We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dank, dirty, dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from a Comfort Inn, but I wasn't expecting this. It's a dank, very dirty and very dated hotel. The rooms are ridiculously over-priced for what you get. Yes, the view is nice, but that's all this place has going for it. Couldn't get rid of that moldy smell that seems to be all over the hotel. The carpets everywhere need to be ripped out and replaced. They just are not maintaining this hotel (e.g., there were two nice looking chairs in our room, but the seats cushions were all stained and the bottom was falling out of the footstools. Just clean/fix that. It left me not wanting to sit in them!)

We thought we might at least enjoy a breakfast on the large deck off the lobby, but there were only four tables (could easily have fit eight out there) and the guests left so much food all over the floor of the deck that you didn't know where to step. The staff didn't seem to notice the mess, despite having walked out there twice. The breakfast is the typical high carbohydrate tasteless offering common to lower-end hotels.

At $190 per night, we feel totally ripped off. We've stayed at Comfort Inns before and they were in much better condition. These rooms aren't worth more than $100 - even with the view. Too bad, because with some investment, this could be a great place because of the view.

Bottom line: If you want a clean hotel, you will need to chose someplace else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ociwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for visiting, and than you for your review. I'll try to figure out which room you were in that you considered dank, dirty and dated. As you can see from other reviews, that is not the norm for our rooms.
I see that you were also looking for more than carbohydrates for breakfast. For proteins, we have scrambled eggs, sausage, hard-boiled eggs, and yogurts. For natural sugars, we have three types of fresh fruit. Of course, we have an assortment of breads, bagels, danish, cereals and freshly made waffles for those who enjoy them.
It is true that are rates are higher in the summer. You are here during the peak season on the coast of Maine. Our rates begin to drop on Labor Day and continue down until our winter rates begin in November.
I hope that you will have a chance to visit us again and try another room, as well as experiencing all of our breakfast offerings.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 461 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We travel with 2 small chihuahua's. what makes this so nice is large lawn leading down to ocean front. Access through level one back door. Also adjacent Resturant attached to lower level. Offers take out right to room. Menu choices are not bad and food was very good quality. I would definitely return for some more RR.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for writing. I am glad that you and your four-legged friends enjoyed your visit here. I was pleased that you also enjoyed the food from the restaurant. We're very proud of our restaurant and hope that may others enjoy it.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is by far the best Comfort Inn I have ever seen. The views are fantastic, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the restaurant is great. I had a reservation at another location, but when I saw this place, I cancelled and basked in Maine's coastal views. All the rooms have an ocean view. I was on the 3rd floor and had an excellent view.

When I was eating dinner at the restaurant, I saw a small cruise ship pass right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was nice that you could cancel your reservation elsewhere to stay and dine with us. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family recently stayed at Comfort Inn. It is a beautiful place and the view is great. There is a path to walk to the ocean with chairs to enjoy the view. Indoor poor and the restaurant located in the hotel has AMAZING pizza. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. We stayed on third floor with balcony and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff and facilities. I was particularly happy to read that you felt the restaurant's pizza was amazing. There are so many offerings on the menu, that I didn't get a chance to try the pizza until recently. You're right. It is great! Thank you for reporting it. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are anywhere near this area of Maine, stay at this hotel. The decor may look a bit dated but this place is soooo relaxing. Every room has a balcony or patio with a beautiful water view. There is a rocky beach, which is no good for swimming or sunbathing, but is perfect for enjoying a morning coffee to the sound of waves splashing in. You can enjoy it while sitting on one of the strategically placed driftwood logs or Adirondack chairs set up near the water. But if you like swimming, don't worry, the hotel has a great pool area. It is a warm indoor pool, surounded by screen doors which let in the fresh air and has lounge chairs just outside for enjoying the sun. There is also a hottub and sauna.The attached restaurant even had a wood campfire burning on the patio where you can sit an enjoy an evening beverage and there is a large deck where you can enjoy your free breakfast or 24-hour coffee and tea. We stayed here a few years ago and liked it so much that we drove several hours out of the way to stay here again...it was worth the drive!

Room Tip: The 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a more private balcony than the 1st floor patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodAddictPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

You wrote a book! Thank you. Your review reads like a tourism brochure for our hotel. Thank you for pointing out many of the little things that, combined make for a great experience. With 54 reviews under your belt, I am sure you have seen quite a few hotels. Thanks for rating us so well.
We hope that you will get back this way soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of my siblings recently passed away suddenly. Two of us and our families stayed here and met with 3 other of our families who are from the area. We were welcomed by the staff to use one of the dining areas to gather and spend time with each other. I have to say the are welcome and consideration we received were truly a Comfort - no pun intended. We much appreciated the thoughtfulness and understanding of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjax_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write during this difficult time. I am sorry for your loss. I was happy to read that the actions of our staff made a hard time a little bit easier.
I hope that we can see you again during better times.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I used up some of my reward points to get away for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversay. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted by a super friendly and enthusiastic staff. Check inn was a breeze and our room (actually every room) offered a gorgeous view of Penobsscot Bay. The bed was nice and soft and had pillows gallore. The hotel layout appears to focus on the bay views and the free breakfast on the patio is something special to enjoy during the warmer weather. It was Father's day weekend and the place was booked full for the weekend with family's and a wedding group, but never seemed overly crowded when we left our room. There was a small group of motor cycling couples that got a little loud (after bedtime) in the room next to us one night, They didn't ruin our stay, but I wish some people would espect othe peoples peace and quiet. We may have evened the score early the next morning when we got up to head out for a day of sight seeing.The location was great for getting around to local restaurants and to see the sites. Bar Harbor and the spectactular Acadia National Park is only an hour away and the drive offers plenty of great shops, food stands, restaurants and museums along the way. We had a wonderful stay, lots of Lobstah and can't wait to get a chance to return.

Room Tip: book early,but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oatnboatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Wow, I couldn't have sold the place better than you did. Thank you for your kind words. Particularly, thank you for your comments on the staff. We try to hire associates who really enjoy serving people. A genuine love for service is not something that can be taught. Thank you for noticing. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.7 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
237 reviews
22.1 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
20.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Ave, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7100 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#3 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $119 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing