We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“usually excellent, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
“usually excellent, but”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

i've stayed here many times over the past 10 years and have never been disappointed. they are pet friendly and all ground level rooms have a door right out to the back for easy dog walking. i only stay off season so the prices are reasonable. this trip was thanksgiving weekend, friday to sunday, 2 queen beds, $75 a night with AAA discount, plus the $ 20 a night pet fee. now, my reason for the poor rating. the housekeeping. again, i've stayed here many times without a problem. room was fine upon arrival, i thoroughly check all rooms right away. made a stop back saturday afternoon before going to my dad's for dinner. one bed wasn't made. i called the front desk. i realized i had left some items on the bed, so they didn't touch it. totally understandable. they said they would come and make up the bed. i commented that we had left the cards to have the linens changed also. we get back to room late, around 11:30. my sister notices there was still a stain on the sheet that had been there yesterday, so they clearly didn't change the linens. did they change them before we checked in, we now were wondering? the next morning i go to make coffee. the coffee maker was never cleaned and fresh cups and supplies were never put out. i then notice the trash in the room was never emptied. i decide at this point to do some thing i have NEVER done in my life. i didn't leave a tip for housekeeping. upon checkout, i make a complaint. the girl at the desk didn't even call for the manager. i may need to find a place a little further away to stay in the future. how can i trust that linens are clean when i check in now? it's just plain gross. i don't think it can out weigh all the other great features of this place. beyond disappointed!!!!!!! i'll be calling the manager today.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klt02886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for writing about your most recent visit to Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge. I'm sorry that we spoiled your most recent visit. As you know from staying with us over a ten-year span, this is not the excellent service that you have come to expect from us. I will be reviewing this with our head housekeeper, and find out where the breakdown was.
I can understand your question, but, of course we change the linens between each guest. The housekeeper didn't change the sheets the next day during your visit because your personal items were on the bed, and she didn't want to misplace them for you. I don't know why she didn't refresh the coffee station, but we will find out.
I hope that you can see this as an isolated incident and allow us to serve you again in the future. I certainly don't want ruin a ten-year relationship.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    147
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
168
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived in Belfast after a very long day of travelling to a very nice, clean and comfortable room. The balcony overlooked the ocean and service at the front desk was incredibly excellent. They all provided us with a lot of information about activities in the area and tours. The hot breakfast had a lot of food, great variety and a very helpful attendant. The restaurant attached to the hotel has gourmet food and was a great experience! We were so happy with the hotel and the staff that we booked an extra night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I was particularly pleased that you liked your experience so much that you booked an additional night. Thank you for your kind comments about the room , the cleanliness, the staff and the quality of the food in the restaurant.
I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a fabulous 1 Night stay at this hotel - the ocean view was simply awesome in the morning and even though it wasn't a sunny day, it was so serene and peaceful! The hotel was easy to find, check in was quick and effortless and since it was low season, the manager kindly accommodated our request to be given a higher floor with a better view since it was my family's first visit to Maine. She even put us in the middle of the floor where there was a better view as compared to the original booking which was at one side of the hotel. Breakfast was decent and we didn't have time to see the hot tub but we heard some guests asking about it. Plenty of parking available too!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor on the 3rd floor (especially in the center of the floor) if you can - these rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weezre23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for wrting about your recent experience here. It was nice to read that Sara was able to upgrade you for a better view on your family's first visit. I hope that you will have the opportunity to bring your family back.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford,Pa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The best place I stayed in New England. Ocean front - every room. Sit on your balcony and enjoy the Ocean view about 200 yards away and the quiet. The road is on the other side of the building - it is just you and the Ocean.. Front Desk staff as well as all other staff are very Professional, but super friendly. If you are in the Belfast area, this IS THE PLACE to stay. This place has all you could ask for , be sure to ask - they WILL accommodate. Do NOT skip the Restaurant - A++ service and food.. Just of Rt 1, lots of parking. Easy 1 1/2 hour drive to Bar Harbor.
I stayed 3 nights and did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Ocean view from your room.. Suite is nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmaine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for driving up from PA, and thank you for writing. I'm glad that you enjoyed the facililies and the staff, as well as the restaurant. I am fortunate to have a staff who really care about a guest's experience here. From our restaurant staff to front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, and laundry, I don't have one apathetic employee. We are fortunate to get paid for what we enjoy doing.
Stay safe this winter. I hope that you will visit us again next summer.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge, Is a very welcoming hotel. The every room at the hotel has a great view of the Ocean. Each room has it's own balcony. I have seen a sign on the front of the building for a few years now. Year 2011, it has changed, that this hotel has won a Choice Hotel award. They must have it really offers more than expected.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for writing and thank you for staying with us year after year. If you have noticed the date changes on our awards. Yes, we have gotten Awards for Hospitality from Choice Hotels for six years. As you can see from the banners we post each time we win, we are very proud of our awards. It puts us in the top 10% of the 1380 Comfort Inns in the system.
It is returning guests like you that make our job easy and preasurable. Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were visiting Belfast Maine for a wedding. This hotel was recommended by the hosts.
From the first time I called to make a reservation to the final check-out, everyone and every-
thing went well. The staff (all the staff) is soooo nice. The hotel is clean and efficiently run.
Breakfast (included) was great and everything is kept full and cleaned all the time.
The view is beautiful. Over Penobscott Bay. Our rooms were ready early (they gave us
early check-in.) Really great. Simple rooms but, they had a fridg. and microwave:)
All the staff made our stay A-plus. We're used to 4 star hotels. The Comfort Inn was simple
but we we're made to feel like family. Thanks a bunch!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view. We prefer a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and to compare us with 4-Star Hotels. I am very fortunate for the staff that I have. They really enjoy providing guests with a great experience. We encourage our associates to have fun at work and share that fun with our guests. From your comments, it is a strategy that works.
I hope that you won't wait for another wedding to join us again.
Thanks,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a generic room with a non-generic view of the bay. Worth the view alone - but the room was comfortable. The wi-fi was a little weird, but it worked so I'll just say to keep trying and you'll find the link to connect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting and posting a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and the view. I'm sorry that the WIFI was a bit confusing. We have 15 antennas in the building to give good signal strength. Sometimes, a computer will select the first access point in a list rather than the strongest signal. I'm glad that it worked out. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.7 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#4 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
1.4 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.1 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Address: 159 Searsport Ave, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7100 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Belfast
#3 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing