We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss this &you'll miss out!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jeweled Turret Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss this &you'll miss out!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is by far the best b&b I have ever stayed in!my husband and I were on our honeymoon from Ireland and a friend had recommended the jeweled turret before we came...so glad she did! We were travelling around the new England area for 3weeks and this beat all the hotels and b&bs we stayed in! Really friendly,thoughtful hosts..when they found out it was our honeymoon they left complimentary wine and chocolates in our room. Will definitely go back if in that area again!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speirsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The Jewled Turret Inn is truely a gem in it's own right even without it's turret. Carl & Cathy are wonderful hosts with a fabulous inn, nothing is too much trouble for any of the guests and one is made to feel very much at home. The breakfasts are amazing, all freshley prepaired by Cathy and run to 3 courses as a rule. The rooms are full of charm and very comfortable and very, very clean. We have made 2 trips here and hoping for more in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonmin_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This beautifully restored inn is a lovely place to stay. There are many common rooms where you can relax. The room we stayed in was charming and comfortable. There are menus, brochures etc on the entire area, so it is easy fo find what you want to do. Tea and coffee were always available, breakfast was delicious and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River NJ
Level Contributor
344 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This exceptionally clean 7 bedroom home sits within walking distance to everything in Belfast, including the Co-op if you want some fresh fruit to snack on, or home brewed beer. The location is ideal for local driveable sightseeing, including Arcadia our national park.
The inn keepers Cathy and Carl are charming, knowledgeable about their town, and things to do in the area, but the home is so gorgeously clean inside and out , with tastefully decorated antiques. The outside veranda provides seating with planters that are blooming profusely .This couple does it with class, from the dishes they serve their abundant breakfast with to afternoon tea /lemonade with snacks in goblet stemware..
The house was full but you would not know it,.
On a personal note, my husband needed medical attention, our inn keeper, did not hesitate to call 911, the response team in this town was exceptional in transporting him to the local hospital Waldon where he was treated and released.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This was our second time in a B&B - and what a difference this made! Cathy was a great hostess and the breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. We couldn't stay with family, but this was BETTER than staying with family. The house is fabulous and within walking distance of downtown Belfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigginton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Our stay here was fantastic. A truly beautifully restored Victorian home. Kathy's breakfasts are to die for and her hospitality second to none. Do not miss this jewel in the crown in Belfast, Maine.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank robex28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

As soon as we booked the room through Expedia, plans changed with friends we were meeting and so we wanted to cancel the booking. The cancellation policy is a full nights stay plus a $35 cancellation fee so even though we were going to cancel within 5-minutes of booking-we couldn't without the fees. Given the situation with our friends and a car-full of perishable food, we called ahead at 8:00am on the morning of the booking and attempted to check in early (before 3:00pm) but were told sternly we could not. After showing up at 2:30pm to ask for a restaurant recommendation to kill time before checking in, we were sternly met at the door with a "it's too early to check in - check in is at 3:00pm" before we could even get our restaurant request out. Not hospitable at all!!! Although we booked a specific room on-line using Expedia, the Inn's website gives preferential treatment to direct booking so although there were 3-rooms available, we got the only "bum" room not shown in photographs (as pointed out to us by the owner) which was dark, stark, faced the unkempt house next door and was more expensive! The room had no tv, phone etc although there were plenty of thoughtful toiletries and the bed was comfy. The owners seemed very harried and not very informed of local events. We stumbled upon a 45-minutes firework display in town and the owners didn't mention it to any of the guests so many missed out. We will not re-book in the future. On a high note, breakfast was fantastic - the innkeepers should be in the food business, not the lodging business!!!

  • Liked — The porch and the breakfast which was high end restaurant quality
  • Disliked — The room we stayed in and the male owner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.2 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jeweled Turret Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jeweled Turret Inn

Property: The Jeweled Turret Inn
Address: 40 Pearl St, Belfast, ME 04915-6330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jeweled Turret Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Queen Anne Victorian bed & breakfast in the heart of Belfast's historic district on quiet side street, a block from Penobscot Bay. Stroll to historic Main Street shops, harbor, cafes, galleries, theaters, and parks. Named for the stain glass turret that encases the oak spiraling staircase. Lounge on one of our two columned verandas with wicker porch furniture, bistro sets and porch swing overlooking beautiful gardens and historic homes. Ornate woodwork, fireplaces, antiques, and Victorian decor add to the magic of The Jeweled Turret Inn. Seven romantic luxury guest chambers with A/C and fans, 4-poster, iron & brass beds, private baths with "English Spa" toiletries; some with turrets, fireplaces, whirlpools. Gourmet breakfasts, refreshments, evening crackers, cheese, sherry. Day trips to Acadia National Park, lighthouses, islands, breath-taking sailing cruises. "Smell the sea air; explore the beauty of coast and islands... visit the charms of historic Belfast, Maine!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jeweled Turret Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jeweled Turret Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing