We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Jewleled Turret Inn, Belfast, Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jeweled Turret Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Jeweled Turret Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Belfast B&B and Inns
Montpelier, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Jewleled Turret Inn, Belfast, Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Absolutely a beautifully and carefully restored Victorian with an abundance of interesting antiques and pictures. Perfect location - it is a two-block stroll to the town of Belfast. The owners, Cathy and Carl, made us feel instantly comfortable and provided easy conversation along with delicious breakfasts. If in the Belfast area again, we will definitely stay at the Jeweled Turret!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Amethyst, which had the second floor turret. It is a beautiful room. Amazing windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brasher Falls
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very authentic decor. Spotless. Cathy and Carl have been at it for decades and they fit the part. Breakfast is the highlight and they have their song and dance down to a T. It's a well oiled machine, but behind the friendliness there is a ridgity. Lots of rules. Little warning signs everywhere. For example, when you check in you have to pick a time for breakfast - 8 or 9 - and don't be late! No sleeping late and having a relaxing morning. It would be nice to be able to get up and have a continental breakfast. No options and no questions about dietary restrictions or preferences. When I am on holiday I prefer a casual surrounding with some privacy, so this place isn't my style. Small items, but the WiFi is spotty and doesn't reach to the porches. You need to call them. A couple of emails were never answered.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2eatanddrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a beautiful location, home and host family! My husband and I stayed here for an overnight getaway in the Topaz Room. Cathy & Carl were warm and welcoming! The breakfast was phenomenal! The decor and feeling is exceptional, what a beautiful place! I was interested in the history of the inn and Cathy shared the wonderful story with us. This getaway was surely a treat! I strongly recommend this inn if you like bed & breakfasts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London and Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Carl and Cathy will treat you as if you are the first guests to stay at their Inn. They are kind and genuine and run a very good operation in a beautiful setting. I'm not the biggest B&B fan because I tend to like more privacy, but staying at the Jeweled Turret was a treat. Our room had the bath 'en suite' behind the curtains. It wasn't a problem at all. The room was cozy and spacious. And clean! Wow o wow was it clean and perfect! I closed my eyes and awoke 8 hours later rested and relaxed. The Inn is filled (and I mean filled) with antiques and fun treasures. Carl takes pride in the home, as he should, and Cathy serves a delicious breakfast. The town itself is a fun place to spend a few hours wandering galleries and shops, and having a meal. Thanks Carl and Cathy for an enjoyable stay and traveling advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janajane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The innkeepers, Carl and Karen, have a beautiful place. You can see the work that went into their inn by browsing through a photo book in one of the downstairs rooms. An eye for detail is apparent. Everything is perfect or near perfect. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mspit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our 3rd trip to Belfast in a quarter of a century and by far the energy was much higher. The Jeweled Turret Inn is one example of this. Our room, The Amethyst , was quirky and fun. The house was clean and quiet and all the little things were done right. The towels were soft, the carpets new and there were interesting nick-nacks all over. We would come back in a heart beat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our room was great, though small. Sherry and cheese in the evening is perfect.

Breakfasts were a bit weak - no bacon/sausage during the weekend, no choices and fake maple syrup. Fake syrup is a big faux pas in New England.

Very comfortable sitting areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.2 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
15.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jeweled Turret Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jeweled Turret Inn

Property: The Jeweled Turret Inn
Address: 40 Pearl St, Belfast, ME 04915-6330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jeweled Turret Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Queen Anne Victorian bed & breakfast in the heart of Belfast's historic district on quiet side street, a block from Penobscot Bay. Stroll to historic Main Street shops, harbor, cafes, galleries, theaters, and parks. Named for the stain glass turret that encases the oak spiraling staircase. Lounge on one of our two columned verandas with wicker porch furniture, bistro sets and porch swing overlooking beautiful gardens and historic homes. Ornate woodwork, fireplaces, antiques, and Victorian decor add to the magic of The Jeweled Turret Inn. Seven romantic luxury guest chambers with A/C and fans, 4-poster, iron & brass beds, private baths with "English Spa" toiletries; some with turrets, fireplaces, whirlpools. Gourmet breakfasts, refreshments, evening crackers, cheese, sherry. Day trips to Acadia National Park, lighthouses, islands, breath-taking sailing cruises. "Smell the sea air; explore the beauty of coast and islands... visit the charms of historic Belfast, Maine!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Jeweled Turret Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jeweled Turret Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing