We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit-Better Than The First Time”
Review of Alden House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alden House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Belfast B&B and Inns
Sand Lake
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd Visit-Better Than The First Time”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our second stay at the Alden House. My wife and I never visit any place twice, but this was the first exception. The Alden House is warm and cozy. The breakfasts were creative with fresh seasonal fruit. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. There was always a thought snack in the afternoon. I got to relax and get some reading done. The innkeepers strive to provide a great visit. The Alden House was a five minute walk to "downtown" Belfast. There is not a lot of night life in Belfast, so dinner and a movie at the Colonial theatre is alway fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdSundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed only one night at the Alden House because our travel plans were limited. But the combination of the very personable hosts, the lovely accommodations, comfort of our room and the fantastic breakfast will ensure that we will return and plan to spend more time in Belfast. The town ( a short walk away) is absolutely lovely and lively with arts and ambiance. These hosts really know how to make the B&B experience delightful. Their relaxed but attentive care was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I've stayed at quite a few B & B inns and this one rates among the very best. The owners, Larry and Rose are friendly, helpful and gracious. Our room and the entire inn was beautifully furnished and immaculate. Very high quality amenities, towels and linens. Breakfasts were creative, beautifully presented and delicious on each of the three days of our stay. Also a delightful fresh baked snack, tea and coffee were provided in the late afternoon.

The Inn is well located within easy walking distance to the old downtown and harbor. The neighborhood is charming and quiet and all the surrounding homes are historic and beautifully restored. Both the Inn and Belfast are well worth an extended stay and they are great places from which to explore the central Maine coast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DASTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Alden House B&B in Belfast, ME. We were absolutely thrilled with both the accomodations and the hosts, Larry and Rose. The building itself offered old world charm while still maintaining cleanliness and modern conveniences. It was a 5 minute walk to downtown Belfast, which is a gem in itself. A variety of restaurants and shpos made this downtown worht the trip. Breakfasts at the Alden House were original and well prepared. If we find ourselves in the Belfast area again, we will be sure to stay at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We just returned from a two nite stay at the Alden House. Larry and Rose are really wonderful hosts - we have never enjoyed our innkeepers as much as we enjoyed these lovely people, who welcomed us and chatted with us as if we were friends staying in their home, rather then paying guests at an inn. The rooms are carefully and beautifully decorated, athough small, they are so comfortable. The feather beds, excellent linens and wonderful pillows are really appreciated. The breakfasts are really special - Larry is the cook and they serve together. I am a foodie, and I was really impressed. This is a small, delightful inn. There is no tv, in case that matters to you. Our room had a small air conditioner, but I don't think any of the other rooms are air-conditioned. The inn is immaculate - both spotless and well-maintained. Its a delightful place and we wish these special people all the best with their new inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Very nice & clean home. The breakfasts were incredible with delicacies from the local farmers market. The inn keepers were very friendly & recommended several nice restaurants in the area and on our travels! The home had a library & two nice sized living rooms to sit back & relax. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottago66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at this beautiful house and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Larry & Rose treated us with so much consideration, warmth and humour. The breakfasts` were something to behold !!!!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Alden house to our closest friends and family. Bill. Merseyside.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideBillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.7 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jeweled Turret Inn
The Jeweled Turret Inn
#1 of 7 in Belfast
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Inn

Property: Alden House Inn
Address: 63 Church St, Belfast, ME 04915-6208 (Formerly Alden House B&B)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfort meets historic elegance at the Alden House. We feature attentive service, spacious grounds and delicious food with locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alden House Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing