We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant innkeepers”
Review of Alden House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alden House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Belfast B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Pleasant innkeepers”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Rose and Larry "make" the experience of staying at this B&B in quiet Belfast, ME. The property is a simple 1840s Greeek Revival house built by a merchant, relatively straightforward and unadorned by gardens or other "Wow" factors. It does feature a handsome spiral staircase and comfortable seating in downstairs rooms. Lodging is upstairs in rooms with and without their own bathrooms. The B&B sits on a tree-lined street of historic homes and is just a five minute walk to the surprisingly active and interesting small port town of Belfast. The innkeepers seem genuinely pleased to have you as a guest, and are welcoming and friendly. They seem highly energetic and eager to please. Breakfast was creative and delicious, with a fruit compote, muffins, and a breakfast plate that included vegetable hash browns (carrots and onions, etc. without the potatoes). Our room, the Annie Partridge, was a bit tight, had a smallish queen sized bed, and a little but sufficient bathroom.

Room Tip: The front rooms are more spacious and slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We returned to the Alden House recently for a quiet New England weekend, and had a wonderful, wonderful time. Our hosts were warm and generous, our room was perfect, and the breakfasts delicious. (Orange-scented croissant French toast! Home smoked bacon!) We left feeling so much more refreshed and relaxed than when we arrived. Probably our all time favorite b&b; highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

To say that my stay at the Alden House was enjoyable would be quite an understatement. With a day to kill between a work trip and vacation, I randomly ended up in Belfast. Greeted with warmth and humor, Larry and Rose are the consummate inn owners. I am a B&B fanatic and this one ranges in my top 3. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, decorated simply yet elegant, and charming is the best way to describe the downstairs area. I didn't even mind sharing a bathroom right across the hall. A broiled grapefruit and apple pancake was beyond delicious for my breakfast. More than the ambiance, B&B's are all about the energy that is given off by the owners. Larry is a character with great wit and tons of knowledge to share. Rose is lovely ~ a true classy lady with a gentle way about her. Don't miss her lavender shortbread upon your arrival. Belfast is a most magical town that calls me to refer to it as "Brigadoon" of sorts (for any musical theater fans." You must visit this town full of art, photography,music, shops, and if you visit, the Alden House should be the place you stay. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephnj411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Alden House Inn in Belfast is a great place to stay if you're visiting Maine's midcoast region. Larry and Rosemarie are accommodating and friendly innkeepers, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious, the breakfasts are really delicious (probably the best we've ever had at a B&B), and the entire house is well cared for, quiet, and in a perfect location. Belfast is just a short drive from other coastal towns (Camden, Searsport, Port Clyde) and about an hour away from Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We loved our visit and definitely recommend staying at The Alden House.

Room Tip: Check the Alden House website for seasonal specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed with Rose and Larry at the Alden House in Belfast for two nights, and we were so comfortable. It is a gorgeous house, and Rose and Larry have thought of every comfort. An excellent breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room each morning between 8 and 9. The rooms were clean and the feather beds were so comfortable. The house has so much history - it was just a pleasure to stay there. Rose and Larry enjoy what they do, and we can't wait to return! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We found everything one could desire in a B&B at the Alden House - impeccably clean and maintained historic premises, well-appointed and tasteful rooms, comfortable atmosphere, ingenious and delicious breakfasts, and most importantly - warm and caring innkeepers!

As soon as I saw photos of the Penobscot room online and I knew instantly that the Alden House was going to be perfect for our stay. Innkeeper Rose also deals in antiques and her sense of clean classic style is perfectly displayed in this gorgeous and serene room. Even though it was located at the top of the stairs, thanks to air-tight seals around the doors we were never once disturbed by any hallway noise (even the mouth-watering smells wafting around the inn in the morning will not get through the doors until you open them!). The one quirk is that the shower is across the hall, but as it's literally a half-step out the door and private to guests in the Penobscot room we had no problems with this arrangement. The innkeepers provided us with plush white robes as well!

The moment we stepped inside we were warmly welcomed by Larry and Rose who gave us a tour of the house and immediately made us feel right at home. These two hosts truly care about their guests and exceeded our every expectation. Upon arrival Larry talked to us about what we like to have for breakfast and the next morning. We were treated on the first morning to fresh fruit, some from Rose's garden, as well as the most delightful breakfast dish I've ever had - Larry's "partly cloudy eggs". The second morning we were treated to an incredible batch of blueberry pancakes! Larry told us that he and Rose will never repeat a breakfast for the same guests (even for ones who reportedly stayed for over two weeks!).

There are plenty of B&Bs in Maine I doubt that any of them can match the Alden House in hospitality. I can't wait to return, not just to the Penobscot room but to spend more time in Larry and Rose's company. They are a truly special couple running a very special inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A lovely sprawling Inn/B &B. Despite their many rooms, you don't feel like you're living on top of each other. Nice location for a walk into town. I enjoyed sitting on the porch to read (even in the rain) Terrific breakfasts. It felt like the owners couldn't do enough for me. The only downside was a less-than-efficient A/C unit in my room

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
0.3 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.7 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
0.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Inn

Property: Alden House Inn
Address: 63 Church St, Belfast, ME 04915-6208 (Formerly Alden House B&B)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfort meets historic elegance at the Alden House. We feature attentive service, spacious grounds and delicious food with locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alden House Inn Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing