We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The cottage was terrific; comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchenette. The owner lives on site and it shows. Everything was in immaculate condition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark616315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

WE stayed at the Seascape Motel and Cottages and the first thing I noticed when entering the duplex cottage was that there was hair in the bathtub from previous guests. One thing I do NOT like is sloppy housekeeping. It really gave me "the creeps." Then, we had a LOT of trouble getting the wireless internet to work. The bed was comfortable, however. I expressly asked the owner about whether or not one could hear through the walls, since it was a "duplex cottage" (not my first choice) and he said "no, I built these myself." We could hear the couple next door as if they were right in the room with us. We kept on the fan on the A/C just to not hear them, but we still did!! Needless to say, we won't stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjwbyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSeascape, Manager at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for commenting about your stay at the Seascape. We are sorry you did not have a good experience like most of our previous guests as attested by many of the positive reviews about us. We value your input. Cleanliness is very important to us, and we don’t expect our guests to experience anything out of place in their accommodations. So, we will continue to strive for excellence in our cleaning. I apologize for the trouble you had connecting to the internet while you were here. We have installed NEW Wireless Internet access equipment as of July 25, 2011. We are confident this highly technical lodging amenity will satisfy all of our future guests’ wireless internet needs. A few years ago we did a complete renovation of your duplex cottage, which included a double insulated sound limiting wall construction, and the interior connecting door is actually three, solid panel doors. As with any shared wall in a lodging facility, some sound will get through the walls regardless of the sound limiting efforts. Although we did not have a cottage available, one of our individual cottages would have been better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our flight into Portland was hours late and I called the manager of Seascape to advise him that we would be very late coming in. He said he would leave the key in the room and the lights on and told me the number of the cottage.

What a wonderful sight, on a cold, wet night after all day in the air or sitting in an airport, to find the lights on and to open up the door to scrubbed clean inviting cottage. The linens on the beds were crisp and clean and we crashed and slept like babies.

We were on our way up the coast and could only spend that one night. We would have loved to stay longer. When we go back up that way - we will stay there again.

The Gipsons
Tyler, TX

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSeascape, Manager at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Seascape. I am glad you arrived safe and sound after a long trip. We have adjusted our Late Arrivals Policy, to be more safe and secure for incoming and already arrived guests. Please call, if arriving late, after 10pm, so we can make special arrangements for your arrival. As usual, we try to be diligent about cleaning. We take pride in offering very clean accommodations. It is why guests like you return year after year, and we respect your expectations of us. Our cottages are available for nightly and multi-night stays. Belfast is a great location, offering convenient access up and down the coast, for day trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This property is meticulously maintained, inside and outside, which made me feel confident. Our room had 2 queen beds each with 4 pillows! The little kitchen even had a tea kettle and wine glasses; the owners have gone to every end to assure our comfort. Although it is on Rte 3, it is set off the road a bit and we did not have a problem with road noise

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSeascape, Manager at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Seascape. It is all in the details. We focus our energy on making everything just right for you. It is our passion. I am glad everything was just right, and we will continue to pay close attention meet your needs and expectations. New, for this season (starting May 2011), we enhanced our bedding, with soft, extra long linens, which fold over the blanket and coverlet. And lots of pillows! Since your visit, there are now six (6) pillows on queen and king beds. The double beds still have four pillows each as we are awaiting new sham covers to arrive. All cottages have fully equipped kitchens, with oven, stove, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, tea kettle, toaster, utensils, glassware and dishes. The Seascape is located on Rt. 1 and 3, physical address is 202 Searsport Ave, Belfast ME 04915. Most of the cottages are set up on a small rise, back from the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Seascape Motel & Cottages provided a convenient location for exploring the region around Acadia. Our cottage was very clean with a comfortable king size bed. While we only used the snack counter and mini kitchen for breakfast, it was a great place to relax and watch TV (which was mounted in a corner cupboard). It worked great for eating our continental breakfast which was supplied at the office and it also gave us an area for planning our next day’s itinerary. The two chairs provided a comfortable place to watch TV. All in all we felt we got a great room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maybepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSeascape, Manager at Seascape Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
The Seascape in Belfast ME is a great location to stay for a few days while exploring the central coast of Maine. I am pleased you found your accommodations acceptable. We try to pay close attention to the cleanliness and functionality of the furnishings and appliances. New for 2011 (July - October), we have upgraded our breakfast offerings. We no longer use conventional food products from big box stores. We now offer complimentary muffins baked daily by a local bakery, which uses many local ingredients, organic or responsibly grown fruits, local free-range eggs, organic soy milk and local butter, as an example. We feel better offering you a wholesome, quality product, we are sure you will enjoy. We also offer great coffee roasted locally and harvested responsibly. Our rates vary with the season. Lowest rates are in May and June, and moderately increase through July and August, before tapering off in September and October. Any time is a wonderful time to visit, and we try keep our rates reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We ran across this motel while travelling along US #1 in Maine on our way from Florida. A sign out front advertised $69.00 room rate. This was the rate for one of the motel rooms with a queen bed and did not include WiFi which was $2.00 additional for 24 hours. Instead we opted for a detached cottage unit #9. What a pleasant surprise!. The cottage was at the top of a rise on the property and the front window allowed a partial view of the bay. The room itself was immaculate. Walls were a light panel and carpet was new. The TV although not the largest screen was viewable from anywhere in the room. A complete kitchen included,stove,teapot,coffee maker,microwave, refrigerator plus cooking and eating utensils. A kitchen bar with two chairs separated the kitchen from the bedroom area. Nice clean bathroom with plenty of water pressure. (I hate flow restrictors) Bathroom was spacious and featured a new molded shower with body wash and shampoo dispensers. Towels were nice and absorbent. Bedroom had a recliner (nice touch for people with lower back and leg problems) We had a firm king mattress bed with a nightstand on either side. Plenty of room to walk around. A large window on the rear wall looked out into the owners garden and apple trees. Beautiful view.
No smoking and no pets. Nice front porch with two chairs and table. Loved the privacy/ample private parking and solitude. Slept like babies. Total price was under $100 including bed tax/state tax/and internet access. Best stay yet in this part of the country. Pool is closed for season. Restaurants within a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14u14me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

But not great. These are simple cottages (mine was single room with kitchenette) clustered around a small, but well-maintained pool. There is an adjoining strip of motel rooms, but I didn't stay there. It's not quite clear from their website, but this hotel is on the other-side of Route 1--not the water-side. They indicate that there is a bay view but I found it hard to locate and is certainly not viewable from a cottage. You essentially face another motel. The road is somewhat busy, but I didn't detect much noise while sleeping. The bathroom was large but could have been a bit cleaner (the trash wasn't emptied and the shower could have been more thoroughly gone over). The bedding was your standard polyester blanket and bedspread and 3 pillows for 2 people. Breakfast is VERY basic: coffee, commercial baked-goods and OJ. At nearly $150 a night I found the price a bit steep for what was offered...and add the $2. wireless fee on top of that and it seems quite stingy. Located about a 5 minute drive from town, it didn't strike me as a place to linger--just a place to lay my head on the way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.1 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
1.0 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#7 of 8 in Belfast
55 reviews
8.7 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Motel and Cottages

Property: Seascape Motel and Cottages
Address: 202 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7111
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seascape Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Motel And Cottages Hotel Belfast
Seascape Hotel Belfast
Seascape Motel And Cottages Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing