We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brillient place - fantastic setting-must go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Young's Lobster Pound

Young's Lobster Pound
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brillient place - fantastic setting-must go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our boys wanted to try lobster for the first time and Young's made it a most memorable meal! We picked our own lobster had it cooked brought our own wine and had a fantastic time...it was rustic charming and eating at sunset on a gorgeous warm evening was unforgettable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiAsh-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    179
    54
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best lobster, bring your own candelabra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

On the dock overlooking the beautiful Belfast Bay with a view of the charming little village on the far side of the water, you sit at a rustic table and enjoy the freshest and most delicious lobster imaginable. We do bring the table cloth, the wine, and really do it up when we go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pd_dirlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmore, Vermont
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

They always are a great value. The folks that work there will often make recommendations. We do take out and bring back to our hotel room and they give you everything you need. EVERYONE should go to Young's at least once!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic lobster pound experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want fresh lobster, this is it. If you are looking for a romantic restaurant, it is not. You will need to BYOB and definitely come as you are.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hamildh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lobster by the sea...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

For atmosphere (think Old Man of the Sea rustic) and freshness/quality, Young's is unbeatable. Nothing flash – it's an old weatherboard shed – but the lobster is superb, as is the view from the back deck on a fine day. Have been here twice in 10 years and loved it both times. Highly recommended as a no-frills dining experience, but not for the spoiled jet set.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsfield58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Young's Lobster Pound also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Young's Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing