We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 restaurants!”
Review of The Gothic - CLOSED

The Gothic
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Driven by season, The Gothic's menu captures the locality and essence of Maine.
Camden, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 restaurants!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've had lunch and dinner at the Gothic. While it is more formal at dinner with a very refined and modernist menu, lunch is comfortable, familiar and yet with just enough of a twist to make it exciting. Brilliant presentation and the best ingredients.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank red r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    11
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful find in Belfast”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is beautiful inside. It is also high on concept on which it mostly delivers. Yes, portions are small, but thoughtfully presented with respect to both taste and presentation. The menu is only price fixe unless you sit at the small bar. You get three courses on the price fixe menu. And you have just three categories of food to choose from either vegetarian, meat or seafood. Within those categories, the chef has selected all your courses for the evening. So if you are a picky eater, this is not the restaurant for you. The wait staff is friendly, if not completely adept yet (clear plates before bringing the next course). The desserts were OUTSTANDING.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spudjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The quality, freshness and menu selection from The Gothic were outstanding. Best meal we've had in a long time, and just another great reason to visit Belfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BKFoodie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Farm to table fraud”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant goes to great lengths to promote itself as a locally supported venture. Down to the generic quote on the bottom of the menu. Who do they think they are fooling?! I was immediately turned off after looking over the evenings 3 dinner options. 3/4 of the menu items are impossible to belong to Maine's soil, and the remainder were pushing the likelihood of even being in season. Shipped in from California most likely. Our waitress was clueless from wine list knowledge to leaving us fork-less for a course. The kitchen was outrageously slow and the terrible music selection and warm dining room made it feel that much worse. Ambiance efforts are as much a part if a dining experience as the meal itself. The space has an insane amount of potential but the only thing captured on our visit was soullessness, from staff, environment to food. Oh and the food...dots, smears and "textures" with a grandiose side of major prevention (with quite the price tag to boot). Come hungry leave hungry & ripped off. Seriously gang, this is Maine. Your resume should include living through a Maine winter before you embarrass yourself with "your" local food misunderstandings. Sure, they will fool a few clueless folks into their NOMA wannabe scheme. The rest of us know better. The rest of us know Maine. Maybe they can brush up on our regional foods this winter...by the pool...in California. Farm to table fraud.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Timtomto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bar Towels for Napkins?”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to have a special night and we heard good things about the Gothic so we gave it a shot. The front of the house staff were very personable and welcoming. When we were seated I noticed bar towels being used for dinner napkins and the plastic place mats. We also noticed upon walking in that the liquor was sitting on the window sill in the sun (not good for alcohol). So my first impression was "I hope the food does not reflect what I have seen so far." I was very pleased with the food. All the flavors incorporated were extremely fresh and not over bearing as well as being beautifully presented. The waitress that we had (Kathryn) was very informative and helpful as well as being very kind and inviting. So for me, yes, I would go again and enjoy the food, with the hope that they will have napkins instead of bar towels on the tables. The atmosphere asks for refined and elegent, yet simple but the place mats and the towels take away from the beauty that the building, the food and the other decor already provide.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Chef Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gothic also viewed

 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing