We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gothic

The Gothic
Ranked #30 of 60 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Driven by season, The Gothic's menu captures the locality and essence of Maine.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The quality, freshness and menu selection from The Gothic were outstanding. Best meal we've had in a long time, and just another great reason to visit Belfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BKFoodie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    11
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Farm to table fraud”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant goes to great lengths to promote itself as a locally supported venture. Down to the generic quote on the bottom of the menu. Who do they think they are fooling?! I was immediately turned off after looking over the evenings 3 dinner options. 3/4 of the menu items are impossible to belong to Maine's soil, and the remainder were pushing the likelihood of even being in season. Shipped in from California most likely. Our waitress was clueless from wine list knowledge to leaving us fork-less for a course. The kitchen was outrageously slow and the terrible music selection and warm dining room made it feel that much worse. Ambiance efforts are as much a part if a dining experience as the meal itself. The space has an insane amount of potential but the only thing captured on our visit was soullessness, from staff, environment to food. Oh and the food...dots, smears and "textures" with a grandiose side of major prevention (with quite the price tag to boot). Come hungry leave hungry & ripped off. Seriously gang, this is Maine. Your resume should include living through a Maine winter before you embarrass yourself with "your" local food misunderstandings. Sure, they will fool a few clueless folks into their NOMA wannabe scheme. The rest of us know better. The rest of us know Maine. Maybe they can brush up on our regional foods this winter...by the pool...in California. Farm to table fraud.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Timtomto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bar Towels for Napkins?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to have a special night and we heard good things about the Gothic so we gave it a shot. The front of the house staff were very personable and welcoming. When we were seated I noticed bar towels being used for dinner napkins and the plastic place mats. We also noticed upon walking in that the liquor was sitting on the window sill in the sun (not good for alcohol). So my first impression was "I hope the food does not reflect what I have seen so far." I was very pleased with the food. All the flavors incorporated were extremely fresh and not over bearing as well as being beautifully presented. The waitress that we had (Kathryn) was very informative and helpful as well as being very kind and inviting. So for me, yes, I would go again and enjoy the food, with the hope that they will have napkins instead of bar towels on the tables. The atmosphere asks for refined and elegent, yet simple but the place mats and the towels take away from the beauty that the building, the food and the other decor already provide.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Chef Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful surprise in Belfast ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stumbled into this beautiful little restaurant in search of a cappuccino for my caffeine-addicted mate and wound up staying for dinner. It was easily the best meal we have had north of Portland. Dinner started with a small, aesthetically-arranged "amuse" lovely, tender greens and vegetables, including an edible tiger lily flower (who knew!). The lobster and scallop seviche was served on a bed of greens, oranges and a delicious spicy-horseradishy-yogurt(?) sauce. The swordfish was pistachio-dusted, perfectly cooked, remarkably fresh, and incredibly good. Our server (who also does the breathtakingly beautiful flower arrangements) was attentive, accommodating and delightful, as were the bar tender and hostess. This is a restaurant worth the trip to Belfast (which actually looks like a charming little town). And yes, they make a mean cappuccino!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank laMarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Me
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food over the top; service not quite there...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Gothic has been open for just three weeks in Belfast Maine, amid quite a stir from local members of the foodie community. The menu is divided into three prix fixe- “Soil, Earth, Sea.”
Each is selected from local ingredients to flow the flavors of the organic produce between courses. The result is a superb blend of texture, presentation, spicing and flavors.

The sous vide halibut melted in my mouth with its unusual oats and saucing. My wife’s pork was equally well crafted.

In addition to the prix fixe, we had a wonderful “amuse” and additional oysters as well as the cheese plate

Matthew Kenney is known for his being a raw food chef, but Belfast will have the expertise of Head Chef Jason Paul’s ability to mingle and marry flavors. Well Done !

Wait staff was still finding their way the evening we were there. When they are more comfortable in their roles, the experience will be totally thrilling...

(As an aside... note the exquisite woods and beautiful craftsmanship of the bar, wait station, and interior. Local knowledge says it was crafted in the boat building facility in Belfast!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_Island_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gothic also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Gothic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing