We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great addition to Belfast!”
Review of Scallions - Food for Life - CLOSED

Scallions - Food for Life
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great addition to Belfast!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was hooked with my very first lunch, the veggie quesadilla. Purple brocolli, sweet potatoes, and more will surprise you when you bite into this fresh meal! The chicken salad is another favorite. The grab and go cooler is filled with take away meals for the family, fresh salads, and pastas. I'm hooked!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vgdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Read the review in the Bangor Daily News and picked up two meals to go on my way home. The salmon was cooked perfectly and was served with rice and string beans. Everything was delicious. Also, the price is great and I would recommend Scallions as a great dinner option for excellent healthy food. Give it a try....you'll love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great Belfast eatery.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Belfast has needed a place like Scallions for a long time. Stopped in to try it with some friends yesterday and realized when we left that we had made 5 separate transactions as every few minutes something else looked so good we had to try it. The potato salad from the cooler was excellent as we waited for our sandwiches and the veggie quesadilla was great, with a gluten free tortilla option. The pulled pork sandwich was perfectly textured and seasoned with a soft roll and crunchy coleslaw to balance the rich flavors. Even a simple grilled cheese and tomato was a few steps beyond what one might expect for something so simple. What was wonderful was the promptness and quality; we all work downtown, and remarked that in the time it takes to drive up and park, grab some food and get back to work would be quicker than lunch at a downtown eatery. Well done, Bim and Diana!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Springs, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at Scallions today and loved our veggie quesedilla and melted tuna sandwich. In fact, since they opened in December we have taken home many of their entrees, and have found all of them to be very tasty, as are the desserts. Diana and Charles Evans are both master chefs and have put their skills to good use.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jean567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Concept”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We grabbed a crab cake salad, and a chicken parm to go. It was awesome to be able to have a nice, home cooked meal, and not have to wait in a restaurant with our small children. The prices were reasonable, but my favorite part was that you can see the kitchen in the back, so you KNOW where your food is coming from, and how clean the facility is. Excellent. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallions - Food for Life also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing