We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly sophisticated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Surprisingly sophisticated rooms, squeaky clean pergo floors (as opposed to the stained carpet usually found in budget accommodations), good quality bed furnishings and especially good pillows, quiet. And they welcomed our small dog ! What else do you need? Good restaurant near by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank allandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thrilled to find this place when 2 other motels were already booked and B&B's too pricey. Newly renovated rooms were clean, comfortable and cozy. Located on the highway with no view of the harbor but close to several good restaurants on the water.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MOB8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012


A+ hotle, terrific rates!! Clean as can be, very comfortable, all newly remodeled rooms. Featuring contemporary, classy furnishings! Cozy and fresh!!
Lots of bang for your Buck, other hotels in the area are out dated and run down compared to the Yankee Clipper. Great coffee to boot!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetsabie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We found this motel purely by chance, having stopped at several places in and around Belfast. All of which were totally out of our price range.
The Yankee Clipper is right by the road side, but no disturbance at all by traffic (this is Maine!!).
Rooms have been renovated entirely and in good taste. I dont think the beds had even been slept in. Huge light and airy rooms. Spotless bathroom. Cleanest place ever seen, and believe me, I have been around.
Check- in was smooth, efficient and friendly. We were looking to get some good lobster local, and were directed to a lobster pound literally 5 mins walk by the waters edge, looking onto Belfast. Bring your own beer, select your lobster and enjoy it right by the water.
Truly one of the most simplest and memorable experiences of our trip.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardM42Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in this motel for one night over Labor Day weekend. This motel is absolutely the PERFECT place to stay if your looking for a clean, modern, no-thrills place to sleep and take a shower. This motel is a vintage 1950s style strip motel with about 15-20 rooms, however, it is evident it has recently been gutted and renovated from the inside out. The rooms are more modern and clean than you would find in your typical Marriott or Hampton Inn, offer comfortable new beds and furniture, and the bathrooms are clean and new and have fresh linens and a brand new salon hair dryer. Each room has a mini fridge and microwave as well, and a nice size closet. The floors are pergo style wood, which means no smelly carpet! All rooms are also smoke free! The outside is well lit and very modern, as it appears the owner has re-sided the entire building and put new LED lights outside each room. While this motel does not offer stunning views of the ocean, a pool, or restaurant, if you are just looking for a modern, clean, comfortable, and safe place to sleep at an incredible price, this is the place to go! A hidden gem for sure.

My only complaint would be the TV's... the owner obviously put the old TV's back in the room, which look funny as they are the old box-type TV's which don't really fit well with the newer modern rooms. But the TV's do work well and there are over 60 channels... what more do you need if you are just there to sleep and maybe watch TV before bed?

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size. Choose either a king bed or 2 queen/doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 603trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tried to get into another motel and was directed here. I didn't do any research as I needed a room that night near relatives. When we arrived, as others have mentioned. it is pretty nondescript fifties looking from the exterior.
Upon entering the room we felt like the first customers. Why don't other establishments put in beautiful wood (ok, maybe pergo) floors and trash the carpets! The furniture was all new and complemented the rest. Very comfortable bed, invitingly dressed. We had a microwave and a refrigerator and the bathroom was bright, clean and just well done for the space.
Last comment is that we had difficulty connecting to WIFI, and when we approached the office regarding this, the person on the desk was seen going around outside on his laptop diagnosing our problem. We were in business shortly thereafter.
Oh, I forgot, reasonably priced. I may even plan a trip back there just to stay at the Yankee Clipper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here two nights before heading to Bar Harbor and were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. From the outside, the motel looked like any other low-priced motel, and I was afraid of what we'd find inside. However, I had read on Tripadvisor that this motel had been recently renovated, and I was not disappointed. The room was so clean that I felt like we were the first ones to stay in it! There was a small refrigerator and microwave, all new furnishings and bath fixtures, and it was decorated well. The price was reasonable, location great (right on Rte 3/Rte 1) and the front desk staff very helpful with local restaurant suggestions. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.4 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
231 reviews
15.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
263 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
15.9 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Motel

Address: 50 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7219
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: $96 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Clipper Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Yankee Clipper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Motel Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing