We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Thai Food”
Review of Laan Xang

Laan Xang
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving authentic Laotian and Thai Cuisine
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Great Thai Food”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I'm a curry critic and these folks hit it out of the park. The spring rolls and dumplings are some of the best we have ever had.......anywhere. They have some nice outside seating. Come by around 1 or 2 so you won't have to wait a long time. Our kids love it and begged us to go again and again...and we did!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClanRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy ending”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We headed for Belfast knowing there were several highly acceptable alternatives on the haddock lobster clam meme. We chanced on Laan Xang down the hill from a good ice cream store. What a lovely surprise. We shared a chicken, broccoli bean peanut sauce specialty which was outstanding. The veggies were fresh and perfect. A word about the chicken: way above the usual asian standard of hacked cheap parts. Clean, fresh, well butchered. Sauce, delicious. If we didn't live in Georgia we would come back often.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geezerfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Fantastic food in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is by far a magical place. The owner was extremely helpful and patient. We ordered the pork dumplings, chicken rams, and my favorite the Cornish game hen. The flavors were so fresh and addictive. The vegetables were picked from the garden and so good. The tomato chili sauce paired perfectly with the incredibly spiced hen! Everyone in the restaurant seemed thrilled with their meals. I can't say enough great things. A MUST for anyone in Belfast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
558 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
“A HUGE surprise the BEST, ABSOLUTLEY DEE-LISSOUSSSSS”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

OMG, the best "authentic" Thai, Laotian-Vietnamese food. Took a day road trip from Bar Harbor to Belfast and found this gem. We had Gyoza (dumplings) for an appetizer and they were the best ever. Husband used to eat them by the bag full from street vendors in Vietnam. He had Pho (Vietnamese style noodle soup) that he also ate there and it was terrific! I had Panang Curry with sticky rice which was to die for, loved this dish!

A must stop :-)

Thank you Laan Xang, we have another 5 weeks in the area so we shall be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 2013TravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great spot in Belfast, Maine - not to be missed! The depth of flavor in the sauces and broths is sophisticated and layered. It's a small cafe and so charming with the owner and chef preparing the food and we were lucky to stop in when her daughter was there to help serve customers. Go early as some of the house specialties could be gone by mid afternoon. It was definitely worth the long trip via boat to have lunch there, then browse the downtown shops. And you can bring your own wine too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laan Xang also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Laan Xang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing