We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Laan Xang

Laan Xang
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving authentic Laotian and Thai Cuisine
Baltimore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I stopped in Belfast for lunch on our way north this August, and we had a wonderful meal at Laan Xang, sitting out on the deck in the beautiful weather. Try the Laotian Cornish hen--fantastic! A fine place to people watch with excellent food and quick, friendly service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
230 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic food”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The food is fresh, tasty and very authentic. During the summer, it's great to sit outside on the deck and people watch as they go down to the harbor.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptioinal Comfort Food”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The weather was cold and foggy on July 3 and 4 of 2012 in Belfast, ME; and most of the local restaurants were closed. We were thrilled to find Laan Xang Cafe open for dinner. The chicken soup in spicy coconut milk was delightful. Two dishes, the pork and chicken with vegetables, were both prepared in a rich and comforting Laotian brown sauce that left us feeling nurtured and fed in both body and soul. The banh mi may be one of the best sandwich I've ever tasted. The Cafe is run by a family. Our waitress made us feel so welcome we wished we lived in Belfast. Her mother was in the kitchen; and we left feeling like we had eaten at our grandmother's house. Laan Xang is a small Cafe with a few tables on a lovely deck with a view of Belfast harbor; but its heart is wonderfully warm and welcoming.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AudioLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious pho and banh mi on the midcoast!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Typically if we have a hankering for a banh mi sandwich, we have to wait until we'll be passing through Portland (two hours south). Not anymore!

So far we've tried the pho, Yarng-Kai Noi (Laotian cornish hen), drunken noodles (I think they make their own noodles?), the basil fried rice, and of course the banh mi (several times). Everything was very tasty and carefully prepared. We look forward to working our way through more of the menu.

The couple who owns the restaurant is very friendly and helpful. Laan Xang is a great addition to downtown Belfast!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Oustanding food”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I recently visited Belfast and asked for a quick good food restaurant. I was brought to Laan Xang. This is mostly tale-out but there are a few tables inside. Dan and his wife greeted us at the door. I had the chicken with red curry and my wife had an asian egglant dish and we shared a dish of summer rolls. The food was prepared to our liking and the flavors and spide were just right. Our meals were accompanied by brown and sticky rice. I would recoomend this place to everyone.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laan Xang also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Laan Xang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing