We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy place to eat.”

The Ocean's Edge Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 60 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ocean's Edge Restaurant specializes in quality cuisine, made fresh and served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere with exceptional views of Penobscot Bay.
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very classy place to eat.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Food is good and it is close to the hotel so its nice to have views of the ocean while you eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank peteson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for writing about your recent visit to Ocean's Edge Restaurant. As a senior reviewer, you see many places. I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant. Since you are in the area, I hope that you will visit us often.
Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Even Better!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have written about Ocean's Edge before, but they have changed staff. The service was great for a busy evening, but they were attentive and efficient without being obtrusive. I had the puttanesca with prosciutto, which was fragrant, flavorful and generous with seasoning. My wife had an Ahi Tuna steak with "confetti fruit" on top. It was like a chutney without spice. it was a wonderful compliment to the tuna steak.
Here's the best part: we asked about dessert. Their new Chef likes to make cheesecake. we had fresh cheesecake with strawberries. The cheesecake was creamy, sweet and delicious, not the heavy, gummy cheesecake you get out of most restaurant's freezers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank H2OGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
It is nice to see a review from a return visitor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. The Chef is rolling out a new menu next week. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us frequently.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
“An excellent meal and experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I enjoyed a wonderful meal and experienced exceptional service. The atmosphere was clean and pleasant with a beautiful view of the water. I will make a point of dining at Ocean's Edge Belfast the next time I visit the area. Cheers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Good Day. Thank you for writing about your dinner at Ocean's Edge Restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, service, and the view. I will share your comments with our staff.

When you are in the area, we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best oceanfront restaurant in Mid-Coast Maine”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Crackling fire, view of the ocean, homey atmosphere and some of the most delicious American food I've ever had. The eggplant parmesan, fresh bread and cheesecake stuffed strawberries make me wish I lived nearby. Filled with locals -- always a good sign. I am going to make this restaurant a destination for me, even if the Comfort Inn is full. And with their view, they usually are.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yoriyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant and the food. We strive to provide great food in a casual atmoshpere with friendly and efficient service. I'm happy that you enjoyed it all. As you noted, we get many compliments on the eggplant Parmesan. People rave about how fresh the eggplant is, because the chef and her staff use fresh eggplant and hand-bread each piece. When you mention desserts, you are talking my language! I look forward to seeing what the staff has for sweets each day. I love the variation.

Thank you again for writing. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

the best hot coffee ever and the food was worth every cent

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank robin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for writing about your recent experience at Ocean's Edge Restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed the food, the service and the coffee. We have recently hired a new Chef, and have enjoyed the changes that she has made to the menu. We have received great positive feedback. Also, the coffee is roasted right here in Maine, supporting the local economy. It is a brand called "Wicked Joe". We have received many compliments on it.

I hope that, should your travels bring you back to Belfast, you will allow us to serve you again at Ocean's Edge.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean's Edge Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Ocean's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing