We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gull in Belfast, ME....like staying on old Rte. 66” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gull Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gull Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Belmont, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Gull in Belfast, ME....like staying on old Rte. 66”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really appreciated the hospitality you displayed to us on our recent stay. Our room was clean and comfortable and made us feel like we were in a vintage motel on old Route 66 out west . Thanks so much for a nice overnight stay. It is very refreshing that some places still offer just an overnight stay while others require several nights. Again, reminiscent of motels/hotels of the past.

Thanks again -
Dave, Kelly, and Tyler Rolfe

Room Tip: These folks will allow a one night stay whereas other area hotels required minimum 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear David,, Kelly and Tyler,

The staff and I wish to send our sincerest appreciation for your positive comments about your stay. This is our reward for the hard work we've done to provide a traditional motel experience for our guests that also meets current standards.

With kind regards,

Peter F., owner/manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter NH
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We wanted to stay in Rockland, but it was Lobster Festival and we needed a room last minute, so we stayed 45 minutes away in Belfast, at the Gull Motel. The rate was fair for this time of year, but I would spend a little more and stay at a nicer place next time. However, if you are on a budget, this motel was clean and we had two queen beds, night tables, a bureau, a small dining table, a fridge, an open closet to hang clothes, a suitcase stand, and small but serviceable bathroom. Our tub/shower combination had some kind of plumbing issue and leaked water all over the floor the first morning. we used towels to prevent this the second morning, but hope they fix this problem!! We mentioned a burned out lightbulb and it was replaced before we returned that evening. We stayed two nights. There is a Keurig coffee machine and pre-packaged muffins in the lobby in the morning, so not really 'breakfast'. We highly recommend the Belfast Co-op for breakfast and a nice selection of organic meats and cheeses, by the way. I agree with the other reviews that the policy of allowing smoking just outside the rooms is offensive to the non-smoking guests! The motel puts ashtrays and chairs outside each door - this is a motel, so we had people smoking 3 feet from our windows! I understand that they do not want smoking in the rooms, of course, but if they want to designate a smoking area, it should be away from the doors/windows of other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExeterNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Exeter/Nina,

Thanks for taking the time to write your lengthy and detailed review of our motel. The minor plumbing issue has been resolved and was not as serious as thought.

The issue of non-smoking guests having to suffer other guests' cigarette smoke is a difficult and challenging one, which we are determined to address.

As a result of your and other comments, we have designated our only two upstairs rooms as non-smoking, both inside and out..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Room clean. Rates fair for this time of year, I am sure they drop by a large amount in winter which is why I hate to travel on business in summer in Vacationland! The only minus, folks on either side of our room sitting outside smoking themselves silly as the rooms are smoke free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Owner at The Gull Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Tiquer,

We appreciate the positive comments about our rates and cleanliness. Our winter rates are as low as $59 per night and we offer a weekly rate of as low as $225.00.

In future, we will do our best to place non-smokers where they will be least affected by this problem. We have two upstairs rooms which will be designated as non-smoking rooms, both inside and out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A very clean and comfortable motal with very reasonable rates a very, very enjoyable weeks stay

Room Tip: If you can book a room there you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoastUSA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location motel with very frienly owners.
The room was large DOG FRIENDLY and clean!
The bathroom was large enough, not spacious but
large enough. We travel to the Common Ground
Fair every year from MA and this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastryFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

The motel was clean with a great location. The room is large enough for two adults to be comfortable but the bathroom is very small. If you love a soft bed, you are in luck and will be very happy! The room includes a microwave and a refrigerator which is really convenient but alas, no coffee pot in the room. If you want coffee, you must go to the front office for it but they also provide a selection of pastries. Peter covers the front desk and is very friendly and helpful. He is willing to answer your questions about the area, providing recommendations if you need them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geauxgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

A nice place to rest & relax, very friendly staff, very clean , nice view across the street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.3 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Jeweled Turret Inn
The Jeweled Turret Inn
#1 of 6 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gull Motel

Property: The Gull Motel
Address: 196 Searsport Ave, US Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7110
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gull Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gull Motel is a clean, affordable and friendly motel on Route 1 in Belfast, Maine. It's a hour's drive from I-95 and just over an hour from Acadia National Park. All of our 14 non-smoking rooms come with air conditioning, heating, fridge,microwave,cable TV, secure wi-fi internet access and telephones with free local calls. All our rooms have queen beds, most have water views. Complimentary K-cup coffee and muffins are served in the lobby from 6:00AM to 10AM daily.The Gull is just a few minutes drive from Belfast's historic downtown and waterfront, with its many specialty shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gull Motel Belfast, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing