We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it here - look no further - you've found the best B & B there is!”
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We are a young couple getting ready for our 1st child this Winter and wanted to get away this Fall to relax and enjoy some time together. We had not ever done a B & B before and boy, were we spoiled! Nothing else can match up to this place. The suites were like a boutique-style city apartment. Ours had hardwood floors, granite coutnertops, flat screen TVs, the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, an amazing breakfast and wonderful owners. They did not forget anything! We will recommend this place to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 433 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2009

I have stayed in a number of B&B's in the Penobscot Bay area, and nothing compares to Belfast Bay Inn. Its location, snuggled in downtown Belfast, is perfect and the accommodations could not be lovelier. We loved the delicious breakfasts delivered to the room in the morning. But the highlight of Belfast Bay is Judy and Eddie, who made us immediately feel so welcome - like we were staying with old friends. It was a great enclave of peace and quiet and the perfect break from our hectic lives. Wish we could have stayed longer. Don't miss dinner at the Three Tides around the corner!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Kate and I stayed 2 nights here this month and were just blown away by how fabulous this place was. A great suite with everything you need and topped off with the most wonderful personal service imaginable. Judy and Eddie were wonderful hosts - they make the breakfast for you and bring it to your room personnally. Judy's pumpkin bread - which this Brit calls cake - was delicious. The whole 2 days there were wonderful and it's one of the best places, if not the best, that I've ever stayed. We loved it and will certainly be returning again. This thanks to our hosts seems a little inadequate, so perhaps we can persuade others to visit here too. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit_in_Maine_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Reminds me of
European boutique inns We will be returning soon and we would recommend this to anyone who likes nothing but the best

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannieloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

this would have to be one of the best inn's that I've stayed at in a while. The room was extraordinarily comfortable spotlessly clean and marvelously appointed. The rooms where charming and spacious but still cozy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joerssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband, young daughter, and I had the pleasure of spending time recently in Belfast, Maine. We came upon a fabulous property, the Belfast Bay Inn & Luxury Suites. It felt like being in our own home. The amenities were first rate and the hospitality were beyond comparison. Ed and Judy Hemmingsen, the owners and inn keepers, went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. The breakfast we experienced was very good and was brought to our room each morning.

We would highly recommend this property to anyone who will be traveling in the area and wants the first class accommodations that the Belfast Bay Inn provides.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mecampana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a two night respite weekend at the Belfast Bay Inn. We frequent Belfast regularly since we live only 45 minutes away, and after Ed and Judy graciously gave us a tour last year, we promised each other we would book a stay.

From the moment we stepped over the threshold, we knew that our plans to visit certain places while in Belfast would be changing, in that we wanted to spend as much time as possible in this elegant and comfortable suite. It was obvious to us that we had entered a world that was lovingly and meticulously created by Ed and Judy for the exclusive enjoyment of their guests. Since my husband and I take care of other people every day, we wanted to feel as though we were being pampered, and this suite and the hospitality of Ed, Judy, and their staff far exceeded our expectations.

From the hand picked original artwork, crown molding throughout, and tasteful high end furniture, to the granite countertops, floral arrangements, lush white robes, and 600 thread count sheets, we were treated to a weekend that we will always remember. The cleanliness of the suite was impressive, and the mood created by the lighting was conducive to relaxation at its finest.

We enjoyed so much the delectable breakfast that we were served both mornings - again the details were well noted -and it made all the difference to us to eat healthy, fresh food in our charming dining area, as opposed to eating at a diner in town. It was also the perfect ending to our wonderful stay.

As many of the other reviewers here have shared, the quality and detail of the amenities made such a difference to those of us who have had the opportunity to experience this fine establishment. This attention to detail is what propelled Ed and Judy to their Four Diamond and Select Registry Status (see the article in the November/December issue of maine.The Magazine). You can also peruse the website www.belfastbayinn.com which I did before our stay.

Of course, we will be returning to the Belfast Bay Inn and Luxury Suites in the future. Our thanks go out to Ed, Judy and their staff for providing us with a wonderful memory-filled weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lausloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.8 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
231 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
15.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: $198 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing