We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite lodging in Belfast, ME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, pa
1 review
“Exquisite lodging in Belfast, ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Innkeepers Ed and Judy did an amazing job renovating and creating a superb quality Inn. Our suite was impeccably clean; linens, furnishings and decor were tasteful and of high quality . The breakfast served in the intimate outdoor courtyard was delicious and consisted on fresh, quality ingredients.
The location is central to visiting Arcadia for a day trip, and the Camden, Rockland area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
279
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Ed and I hit it off quite early, we share a similar last name and a penchant for detail. He and his wife Judy run an amazing inn that excels in making sure its guests are happy and comfortable. We were in town for a family wedding and traveling with our two teens. Ed and Judy were all ears when we first met. I mentioned why we were there, the fact that two of us have dietary restrictions and that my sister Lisa may be stopping in. Not a beat was missed the entire stay as they cooked gluten free breakfasts for two of us and happily greeted my sister and never failed to ask how the wedding was. The rooms and the service were both first rate, the food was perfectly fresh and delicious, we felt completely at home. One great example of their devotion to the guest was when we had carry out one night from a local place but were in dire need of ketchup of all things. We asked Ed if he had any in the fridge and he ran to check only to reappear seconds later with his coat on to dash to the coop next door to fetch a fresh bottle for us. Looking back over his shoulder as he sped off he said "I am here to make sure you are happy" Bravo Ed and Judy we had a wonderful time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
699 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

When you first enter the spacious and pretty lobby you are enveloped in a sense of "We're going to love this place." The owner is perfect for this career - hospitable, knowledgable and welcoming.
Our room on the second floor was actually a beautifully appointed apartment overlooking the food co-op...perfect for people watching. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom large with two sinks and a superb shower. The entire room was spotless, bright and cheerful. The kitchen has full-sized appliances.
The Belfast Bay Inn is conveniently located on the main street, within walking distance of very good restaurants, shopping and the marina if you wish to wander down to see the sunset.
The breakfast was delicious. We were served in the courtyard and enjoyed both the food and meeting the other guests.
This is a SUPERB place to stay - the nicest place we've stayed in the USA and abroad. We are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Visit the website - they have accurate and enticing descriptions of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We live in New Hampshire and my wife is from coastal Maine. We had a couple of days free from children and work so decided we would head up to the Penobscot Bay region and enjoy ourselves. We learned about the Belfast Bay Inn on the internet and decided to give it a try. Camden is crazy touristy so we really enjoyed being in Belfast. We were in Suite 301 which is the largest suite I've ever had the pleasure to occupy. There is a large living area and kitchen with views of the town and the harbor. The furniture is not only nice looking but comfortable. The bedroom is also huge, with a king bed that, and I'm tall, had to be the longest bed I've ever enjoyed. The owners are extremely helpful and breakfast was fresh, local, organic, and delicious. All for about half of what we would have had to pay for a tiny room in the more fashionable and well-known town of Camden. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrcunh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow, the owners deserve 6 stars! What looks like nothing special from the outside is a warm, family style boutique hotel with an incredible attention to the details. The owners used to manage bigger hotel with 5 star restaurant so they clearly know and love their business. The rooms are in fact little apartments with fully equipped modern kitchen, nicely decorated, spacious and absolutely spotless. Everything works, we got great local information starting from the local restaurant and things to do in town and in the area. We even got a CD to guide us on the trip to the Acadia National Park nearby. The best is a breakfast which is a homemade, delicious creation served in the room or in the back garden. Belfast Inn is a true gem, lovely and totally unexpected.

Room Tip: Just stay there if you are in the area, worth every penny :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tq0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

All is great in Belfast Bay Inn. From the welcome service, through the rooms, somehow unique et cozy but truly comfortable, to all round experience. The owners are there for you, wiht advice and worm word. They readily give you info about the area, national parcs (a must is Acadia about 1.5h from Belfast, a full day trip), restaurants, walks. Breakfast is served outside on the patio if weather permits or in your room, at prearranged time, if not. All fresh, maily bio products, quite a rarity overall in the US. Highly recommended on your way in Maine.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice in my mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We've been to 43 countries around the world, mostly staying in five star luxury hotels (Four Seasons, Ritz, Park Hyatt) and this Inn, centrally located in down town Belfast, is really superb. The suites are so nice, roomy, and well appointed that you could live there. We were delighted with every aspect of our stay. The beds are very comfortable, lovely high quality sheets, very quiet at night. The kitchen and living room were spacious and really nicely decorated. We just stayed in Paris in a hotel that was $2000 a night, and it wasn't half as nice. The Inn was ranked top ten in the US, I think, so now I need to see where the other 9 are. Belfast has a lot going on also, nice coastal Maine Harbor town with a busy marina, lots of cute shops, local restaurants, and beautiful New England 1800's homes and churches to view.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.7 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.4 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Property: Belfast Bay Inn
Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing