We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King's Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfast Bay Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belfast Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
“King's Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'm Polish and I live in Warsaw. I spent the night New Year's Eve 2012/2013 in BELFAST BAY INN. This hotel is a worthy recommendation because it is unique and only one in a-kind hotel. The BELFAST BAY INN has a very high standard and the owners really care about nice atmosphere. This hotel has a European standard. The rooms are very beautifully decorated with flowers and beautiful paintings. Rooms have fireplaces and warm atmosphere even when cold outside. The comfort of the bed is to be experienced. Every hotel room has a different character and differs a little. Interior of the hotel is the King's, and I felt with my boyfriend like a real Princess with the Prince. I am sure we will have to visit this hotel again soon. I heartily recommend this hotel to all tourists who appreciate luxury and peace.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess-Bozena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
279
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sabattus, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I found the Belfast Bay Inn on TripAdvisor thanks to it's top rating, so we selected it for our New Year's Eve and 2nd wedding anniversary getaway. It was all we had hoped for and more. June and Ed greeted us with warmth and we felt completely taken care of during our stay. The lobby was gorgeous, and our room was luxurious- the decor is beautiful and welcoming. We stayed in suite 301 which I recommend. We were on the 3rd/top floor with amazing views of the ocean from both rooms: there was a well equipped kitchen, a beautiful living area, dining area, large bedroom with plush bedding, and marble bathroom. I remarked to my husband more than once that I could live in this "apartment/room" forever. And the homemade breakfast is served by Ed and June right in your room, it was fantastic. As for location it was perfect for us. We walked to the local grocery co-op (amazing place) for snacks and champagne for our room, were able to walk around downtown and enjoy the shops, and then walked to a fabulous restaurant just up the road (thanks to June's suggestion). We had a great trip and look forward to recommending the Belfast Bay Inn to friends and also staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Stayed in suite 301 and LOVED it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlindsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were "wowed" the moment we walked into the beautiful lobby. Then we met Eddie who greeted us & took such care in acquainting us w/this stunning property. When we walked through the door of suite 202, we never wanted to leave!! Large,spacious,beautiful,clean,classy,& comfy are just a few adjectives to describe our "home" for the weekend. It has everything, just bring your clothes & move in!!
Just when you think it can't get better, a full gourmet breakfast is DELIVERED to you in your suite.Beautifully presented & delicious. I am so grateful we had 2 nights booked, we truly did not want to leave.
Judy & Eddie are the consummate innkeepers & have got it right @ the Belfast Bay Inn.

Room Tip: The suites are all superior, 3 have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here while visiting mid-coast Maine and was so charmed by the Belfast Bay Inn. This Inn is definitely run beautifully and no attention to detail is spared. A true luxury inn, everything here is wonderful and high quality from the linens, mattresses, and especially the gorgeous breakfast in the morning that is delivered. It's so refreshing today to know that there's actually a place where businesses owners go the extra mile and are so dedicated to giving you the best possible stay.

In short- this Inn is a MUST.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying in many fine hotels, inns, and b&bs. So, saying one is better than the rest is subjective in most cases, but our stay at the Belfast Bay Inn might have been the perfect stay at the perfect hotel. The place is beautiful without going over the top The suite we had was comfortable, well appointed, and perfect in all ways. The bed was by far the best bed I have ever slept in- way better than our one at home! Everything was perfect.

The location is also great- you can walk all over Belfast, get a good meal and wander back to a comfortable appealing room. We had a bit of a harbor view, which was nice, and we had a nightcap in front of the fire. What else could one want?

Ed and Judy are delightful, and certainly know what they are doing, and they do it with so much grace that it seems effortless, but obviously they work very hard. The inn business is tough, but Ed and Judy shine in their lovely inn. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed in B&Bs and small hotels all over the USA and Europe, but the Belfast Bay Inn is at the top. Judy and Eddie are warm, capable hosts who made sure our stay was wonderful. There is convenient parking just behind the hotel, with a parking space for each of the 8 rooms. On arrival Judy gave us a tour of the inn and showed us our room (201). It was upstairs on Main Street but was quiet just the same (brick walls, double-pane windows). The room was elegant--a large two-room suite including a kitchen and TVs in each room. The room was well appointed, sparkling clean, with a large comfortable bed with nice soft pillows (important to me). Eddie and Judy serve breakfast IN THE ROOM, exactly at the appointed time! The food was scrumptious, a testament to Judy's skill.
They made our restaurant reservations in advance. The Lost Kitchen was a block away with excellent food. Lincolnville Lobster Pound was a 10-mile drive but worth it. Delvino's was half a block with competent food.
We chose Belfast because of its central location to do day trips. The longest was to Acadia National Park, which was beautiful and drivable there and back in an easy day.
Overall, the Belfast Bay Inn was an unexpected, wonderful surprise--Judy and Eddie are the best!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent--you can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank actollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ed and Judy Hemmingsten are perfect hosts and went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience. The rooms were superior, the bath towels thick and comfy and we were just steps away from all the stores and intown conveniences. It's a great location. We look forward to staying there again.

commodoredon

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor suite. Exceptional and you can see the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
0.9 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.7 mi away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.4 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Bay Inn

Property: Belfast Bay Inn
Address: 72 Main St, Belfast, ME 04915-6825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel located in the heart of Belfast, Maine, surrounded by quaint shops, galleries, restaurants and just steps to the waterfront. Each of the suites and rooms offer refined and sophisticated furnishings, luxurious amenities, A/C, private spacious bathrooms, and breakfast delivered to your suite. Come experience our gracious Maine hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belfast Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Bay Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing