We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and high value”
Review of Solo Bistro

Solo Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Solo Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and high value”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went for dinner (had been there for lunch). The food was top notch and high value compared to Portland. Service was great, friendly, and causal. We ordered the seared duck breast with duck confit cassoulet with winter vegetables and the seafood fra davola. An amazing stand out was the wine list. It was a standout because it was a relatively eclectic wine list, but reasonably priced. bottles appeared to be 200% mark up as opposed to the traditional 300% so the restaurant encourages you you to enjoy wine should you chose too. Thank you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    77
    29
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This restaurant has great food. It is a bit noisy, but the food is delicious and the service is good. You must make a reservation, even in the winter as the few people that live in Maine are apparently going there to eat dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fancynancy10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sophisticated Dining”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Finally went to dine at Solo Bistro after suffering through another overpriced seafood joint, and was very impressed! Great cocktails, delicious and interesting dishes, and nice staff. It's now the only place I'll have dinner in Bath!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High class dining in little ol'Bath, ME”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband & I have eaten at Solo Bistro a number of times & we've never been disappointed. From the high quality & preparation of the changing menu to the insightful & helpful waitstaff, it's great to have such an excellent restaurant right in our backyard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, MA
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Won’t be our sole experience at Solo Bistro--we’ll be back!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We dined with friends at Solo Bistro during the past summer.  There was some confusion about our reservation, but the problem was handled well; we waited under five minutes while they got an appropriate table ready.  We were seated in the small downstairs dining room, which felt almost cave-like with stone walls.  Even though the room included a small bar, it was generally calm and quiet; some might be distracted by the frequent movement of the wait staff up and down the stairs.

Our food was excellent.  My scallops crusted with herbs were perfectly cooked.  We all shared a lovely dessert that featured several varieties of local berries.  The by-the-glass wine selection covered lots of territory and the prices were pretty reasonable.  The prix fixe menu looked like an excellent value though we didn’t try it.  

With a friendly smile and pleasant sense of humor, our server did a nice job.  She was happy to answer questions and appeared when we needed her, but was never intrusive.  

Next time we’re in Bath, I’ll suggest a return to Solo Bistro--and don’t think I’ll hear any objections from my sometimes-fussy husband who, like me, really enjoyed his meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Route128North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo Bistro also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Solo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing