We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming.”

Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gwenda and Don are wonderful hosts and just great people. The rooms are comfortable and clean and, thank goodness, air conditioned (it was actually over 90 degrees while we were there - unusual for Maine). Gwenda's breakfasts are to die for - as beautiful as they are delicious. You can't beat Bath for a summer getaway. I almost hate to write a review just because I don't want them to have so many guests that I won't be able to get a room!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Gwenda and Don are wonderful hosts. The accommodations were excellent - very clean and comfortable.Gwenda's breakfast(s) were gourmet and so delicious, and the location of their place having a view of the Kennebec River, special. Also, there is lots to do in the town of Bath, ME.

Room Tip: While we did sleep well in our queen size bed, I think next time we might get the room with the King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bqbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Pryor House is wonderful, and the hosts, Gwenda and Don were very gracious. We spent 2 nights in Bath, a placed we lived a long time ago, and the Pryor House helped us feel right at home again. Gwenda met out dietary needs and provided a great breakfast. The room was clean and had views of the Kennebec River, within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We highly recommend the Pryor House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Due to a death in the family we had to rearrange our recent trip to Maine. Don and Gwenda were most helpful in changing our arrival date, and making us feel at home. The house, built in 1820, is beautiful, and in a quiet location. The breakfast that Gwenda served on Friday was one of the best we have ever experienced in our B & B stays throughout the country. Oh, and don't forget to pet Forest their 14 year old greyhound. He's one mellow dog. Our next trip to Maine will include another stay at the Pryor house.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Elizabeth room" which has an enormous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lefty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We decided to take a trip to Maine to celebrate our babymoon - my wife is due to give birth this November to our first child - and we couldn't be happier with our experience at the Pryor House! Everything was very relaxing and had such a warm feeling, Gwenda was very helpful and tried really hard to take my wife's food allergies/intolerances into consideration! The bed was simply amazing, we both passed out for a short and restful nap before seeing the sights and sounds of Bath. After dinner, we came back to a wonderful surprise of the bed turned down with homemade treats on the blankets! Then, we took full advantage of the jacuzzi tub, which was able to easily fit both of us, and completely winded down for the evening! Overall an amazing experience and one we'd definitely like to do again if ever back in Bath! Our only note is that if you prefer to eat alone, this might be a bit of an issue because there is just one table and everyone staying there eats breakfast together in the morning, but for us it was great because we met a very nice French couple staying there and were able to chat away while Gwenda made a fabulous breakfast in the next room!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with paying extra for the amazing jacuzzi tub! Simply a must! Book the Chimney...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ahuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We loved the historic feel of this house - beautifully decorated and peaceful. Gwenda is such a lovely lady - an aura of peace around her I think. There was something rather special about eating breakfast with candles lit - and a very well cooked and presented breakfast at that! We only stayed two nights but really enjoyed sharing the table with other guests - could have sat and chatted for hours. We were really impressed with Bath - for us just a stop at the end of a touring holiday but in fact such a beautiful town, with friendly people, steeped in history that despite the weather being very disappointing we fell in love with the place - and if we lived a bit closer than the north of England we would most definitely go back. Pryor House is just minutes from the heart of this little town and set on a quiet road next to the river so we felt the location could not have been better. If we ever find ourselves in this part of New England we would definitely stay there again. The Elizabeth room was gorgeous with a large bathroom/dressing room - plenty of space to unpack and make ourselves at home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magpie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Fantastic breakfasts (pleasantly accomodating a special needs diet), gracious hosts, beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable, both elegant and unpretentious. Location is attractive, quiet, and accessible to downtown Bath. We highly recommend Pryor House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Not_a_Touron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
7.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benjamin F. Packard House
0.8 mi away
Kennebec Inn
Kennebec Inn
#1 of 6 in Bath
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pryor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pryor House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 360 Front St, Bath, ME 04530-2749
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $162 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pryor House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pryor House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pryor House Bed And Breakfast Bath, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing