We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations and Hosts”

Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Due to a death in the family we had to rearrange our recent trip to Maine. Don and Gwenda were most helpful in changing our arrival date, and making us feel at home. The house, built in 1820, is beautiful, and in a quiet location. The breakfast that Gwenda served on Friday was one of the best we have ever experienced in our B & B stays throughout the country. Oh, and don't forget to pet Forest their 14 year old greyhound. He's one mellow dog. Our next trip to Maine will include another stay at the Pryor house.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Elizabeth room" which has an enormous bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lefty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

We decided to take a trip to Maine to celebrate our babymoon - my wife is due to give birth this November to our first child - and we couldn't be happier with our experience at the Pryor House! Everything was very relaxing and had such a warm feeling, Gwenda was very helpful and tried really hard to take my wife's food allergies/intolerances into consideration! The bed was simply amazing, we both passed out for a short and restful nap before seeing the sights and sounds of Bath. After dinner, we came back to a wonderful surprise of the bed turned down with homemade treats on the blankets! Then, we took full advantage of the jacuzzi tub, which was able to easily fit both of us, and completely winded down for the evening! Overall an amazing experience and one we'd definitely like to do again if ever back in Bath! Our only note is that if you prefer to eat alone, this might be a bit of an issue because there is just one table and everyone staying there eats breakfast together in the morning, but for us it was great because we met a very nice French couple staying there and were able to chat away while Gwenda made a fabulous breakfast in the next room!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with paying extra for the amazing jacuzzi tub! Simply a must! Book the Chimney...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ahuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We loved the historic feel of this house - beautifully decorated and peaceful. Gwenda is such a lovely lady - an aura of peace around her I think. There was something rather special about eating breakfast with candles lit - and a very well cooked and presented breakfast at that! We only stayed two nights but really enjoyed sharing the table with other guests - could have sat and chatted for hours. We were really impressed with Bath - for us just a stop at the end of a touring holiday but in fact such a beautiful town, with friendly people, steeped in history that despite the weather being very disappointing we fell in love with the place - and if we lived a bit closer than the north of England we would most definitely go back. Pryor House is just minutes from the heart of this little town and set on a quiet road next to the river so we felt the location could not have been better. If we ever find ourselves in this part of New England we would definitely stay there again. The Elizabeth room was gorgeous with a large bathroom/dressing room - plenty of space to unpack and make ourselves at home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magpie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Fantastic breakfasts (pleasantly accomodating a special needs diet), gracious hosts, beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable, both elegant and unpretentious. Location is attractive, quiet, and accessible to downtown Bath. We highly recommend Pryor House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Not_a_Touron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We stayed at the Pryor B&B on Oct. 5&6, 2007. Gwenda & Don are great hosts. Breakfast is different each morning and everything we had was wonderful!!! We stayed in the King bedroom, it is the only room that the bath isn't ensuite, so just a minor inconvenience. But the room is so large and bright that we didn't mind. Furnishings are lovely and very well kept. Gwenda always has some type of treat each evening, whether cookies or candy, it's a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay with them and our conversations; their children are adorable and you would never know that they're in the house; we never heard them. We hightly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DKTRJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

My wife and I have now stayed at the Pryor House four times, and it's been wonderful each time. We've stayed in all three rooms and recommend each one. The breakfasts are truly delicious!! The house is within an easy walking distance of downtown Bath, so it is very well located. The host's family atmosphere adds to the hospitality. The Pryor House has my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soxfanfrommaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows (4). This was the third B&B we stayed in on our 11 day trip though New England and it had the most comfortable bed and the best breakfast. Don't get me wrong, both of the others also had great food, but the breakfast here - wow! The food was well prepared and presented beautifully. Gwenda will even share the recipes with you.

They even gave us turn down service with a plate of freshly baked cookies waiting for us in our room.

We stayed in the Elizabeth room and the bathroom was quite large, with a full size tub.

The beautiful assortment flowers planted outside were just the first indication of the extra effort given to make your stay special.

Tip #1: If you stay with Gwenda and Don, DON'T sleep though breakfast.

Tip #2: For the best lobster roll in Maine, go to Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster, in Freeport. Also, try the cornbread and the fresh fish sandwich was also great for those non-lobster fans.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank letsgo669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
7.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
0.1 mi away
Benjamin F. Packard House
0.8 mi away
Kennebec Inn
Kennebec Inn
#1 of 6 in Bath
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pryor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pryor House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 360 Front St, Bath, ME 04530-2749
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $163 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pryor House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pryor House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pryor House Bed And Breakfast Bath, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing