We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kennebec Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kennebec Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was in the area looking for a house to purchase, and spent 5 days at the Inn. The Inn is beautiful, very clean and tastefully decorated. Each room is different, but all are bright and cheery. My friend and I stayed in the Captain Perkins room which has a king bed plus a twin bed, a sitting area and a dressing area. The room also has it's own entrance to the outside. The beds were very comfortable; the bathroom was spacious and kept extremely clean. The Inn also has a swimming pool out back, and a very large lawn. I can't say enough about how helpful Rachel was. She recommended a Realtor, and also areas in which to concentrate my search. She is a wealth of information regarding places to see in the area, and restaurants for lunch and dinner. Last but not least, she makes the best breakfasts.Ever. I would recommend the Kennebec Inn to anyone who wants a lovely, restful vacation in the beautiful Mid coast of Maine. I hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: The room description on the website are very accurate. There are no bad rooms at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
75
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights with our teenage daughter at this quaint inn in the picturesque town of Bath. We opted for the two rooms in the carriage house, the America's Cup Room and the Remington Room. It was very private and the rooms were very pleasant. There were very comfortable matresses and linens on the beds. The bathrooms were roomy and had nice high quality towels. Rachel was the perfect host, providing plenty of ideas for things to do in the area. And her breakfasts were AMAZING, from the fresh fruit and breads to the blueberry buttermilk pancakes and fritatta. The swimming pool looked lovely. Unfortunately it was too cold and rainy to use when we were there. I had wished we would have booked addtional nights here.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the carriage house rooms with the view of the pool and backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family and I flew in from out-of-state for a relative's Memorial and we couldn't have been more pleased that we had chosen this Inn for our stay, end of May to 1st of June. We stayed in the Captain Reed Room and Capt. Perkins Room, which were adjoining, yet separated by a door that was a bookcase, so that was fun for my family and me. As reported in other reviews, the house was charming and beautifully kept...crisp and clean linens, comfortable beds and the grounds were so beautiful, with blooming lilacs and all! We felt really treated with those 3-course breakfasts and Rachel's special personal attention and care. Accessibility to wherever we needed to go was really good, but it was very quiet where the Inn was itself. There was also plenty of space to put your clothes away in drawers, if you like. Overall, we loved our stay for so any reasons and would definitely go back...thank you, Rachel and Kenneth!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyJoshandRembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent three nights at the Kennebec Inn in early October. Rachel and the inn definitely lived up to all the reviews. The inn is impeccably kept and our accommodations in the Captain Perkins room were defintiely wonderful. A nice large room with a king bed plus a twin bed if needed. It was nice to make our luggage disappear into the spacious walk in closet. It had its own private bath with a claw foot tub. Rachel proved to be a delightful host who was always available to talk and give directions. This is her home turf and she can give lots of detail on directions and interesting places to go.
Each morning we were treated to a feast of a breakfast. Definitely did not leave hungry! If you let her know she is quite accommodating for dietary requirements.
The next time we are in Maine we will most definitely try and stay at least one night again at this lovely historical Maine home/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachglassgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 4 night visit here. The owner, Rachel, was extremely gracious and helpful and the house was large, comfortable and immaculately kept. The traditional New England house is also centrally located near lots and lots of areas to explore, very reasonably priced and the breakfasts were delicious, varied and decadent (3 courses every morning)!! Rachel does not seem to have lost her enthusiasm about her home state and was very generous in helping us plan wonderful activities everyday. Some of the room amenities were modest but the generosity of spirit makes this a place we will return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wonderful gormet breakfast, extremely clean suites, comfortable beds! could not be more accomodating., Rachel is a wonderful hostess. within walking distance of downtown Bath. only few feet from Route #1. definitely would return next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: America Cup Room has wonderful old beams in ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our experience staying at the Kennebec Inn. Breakfasts were amazing and we really enjoyed having spirited, entertaining and informative discussions with the other guests each morning at breakfast. All surrounding absolutely incredible offerings of baked-from-scratch goodness. Couldn't have been better.

Our room was very comfortable and private. The location is central to downtown Bath with entertainment and great meals in easy walking distance. In fact, the walks were a good way to begin working off the guilty calories!

If you're staying in Bath, don't hesitate to stay at the Kennebec Inn. You will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11961EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
7.2 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
7.1 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.8 mi away
Benjamin F. Packard House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebec Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebec Inn

Property: Kennebec Inn
Address: 696 High St, Bath, ME 04530-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennebec Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1851 by Captain James B. Perkins, the Inn offers a park-like setting with vintage barn, easy parking, picnic area, large peaceful en-suites, and a gated in ground swimming pool. Among other things, guests enjoy a three-course breakfast served each morning on beautiful Blue Willow China, free wireless internet, easy access to town, shopping and beach. But the best part about The Kennebec Inn is its welcoming feel and the owner's attention to detail. Relax...You're at the Kennebec Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Kennebec Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebec Inn Bath, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing