We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Quiet, Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Benjamin F. Packard House
Ranked #2 of 5 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was our first time at a B&B. The home is on a dead end street, which made for lots of quiet. The neighborhood is quiet also. The innkeepers are very good at making you feel welcome and comfortable. The cleanliness of the room was immaculate. At night we went out to dinner at one of the many local restaurants, when we came back to the Inn we found some ice water on a tray with chocolate covered blueberries and the bed turned down for us. Complimentary turn down service, just another added value.

The breakfasts were wonderful. At night you choose what you will have for breakfast and place the card in a basket in the dining room by 8pm. On Saturday we had Belgain waffles and sausages. I am not a waffle person but these were so light and airy, it was delicious. Amy is a great cook and on this day she made a strawberry/blueberry crumble. I do not like to eat blueberries and my wife does not like them cooked. It looked and smelled so good we both ate some, again delicious. The second and final day we had cheese quiche with fresh herb and tomatoes on top and bacon on the side. Who doesn't love bacon? The quiche I was a bit nervous about so I had some fruit and some of their homemade granola. I also had one of the biscuits that Amy baked, the biscuits were great and the raspberry preserves on top must have been home made. Imagine, biscuits with flavor and they weren't like bricks. Back to the quiche, it was great! Light, fluffy eggs and cheese baked in small square dishes, and no crust. I thought the tomatoes were going to be baked into the quiche but they were on top and so tasty and fresh. I would love to stay a week sometime and just relax around the house.

The rates are very reasonable and once again, breakfast is excellent. Amy and Mark know how to make their guests feel welcome and with only 4 rooms they can provide many things they you can't get in a larger place. There is plenty to do in the area, great beaches, great food, or plaves to bike, hike, or just veg out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangorsux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Benjamin F. Packard House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed only one night at this charming B&B, wished we'd had more time! The room was cute, the shower head was very high up (great for tall people) and Amy knew the town very well and was able to make several great suggestions of where to go. The B&B is only a few blocks from the main part of town. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Everything was homemade and the service was very impressive. Would love to go back for a longer period!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calicpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This place was great. The house is beautiful and well kept. The garden was shady and cool and a quiet place to enjoy. The room was just right, comfortable, private. Breakfast couldn't have been better. The couple that own it are perfect. Enjoyed visiting with them and they gave us great ideas of what to do and where to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr112172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My mom and I were traveling together, and we shared the Down Easter room. We were totally swept away by how gorgeous our room was, and the house on the whole. Our breakfasts were amazing (honestly), and even the afternoon tea-time in the garden was remarkable. Lupini (the resident doggy) is a doll, and very well-behaved. Amy had great suggestions for places to eat, and she was always right. We had a great stay - perfect spot for relaxation in "Vacationland"!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We found the innkeepers friendly and knowledgeable about what to see and where to eat in the Bath area and beyond. The house was comfortable, clean, and well-furnished. Service was great and the daily breakfast a treat of fresh, homemade food. Altogether, a special B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwright910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The innkeepers were wonderful - helping us recover lost luggage and providing tips on places to see in the area. It is a historic home so make sure you go when it is cool (we were a little warm in our room due to lack of air conditioning). The breakfast was lovely... the homemade granola was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zagnutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I traveled to Bath for a friend's wedding and decided to book a B&B since we had never stayed at one. We didn't think much of it, since our main purpose of travel was our friend's wedding. Arriving at the Packard House I was impressed with how clean and well maintained the house was, and also happy to be greeted by the friendly host, Amy. We stayed in the Down Easter room, which was also super clean and cozy looking. The bathroom was well kept and renovated to keep in the style of the house.

Amy was helpful in suggesting the good restaurants in Town (which are a short walk away). I'm sure she would be helpful with sightseeing locations too, but unfortunately, we didn't stay long enough to do any sightseeing. We didn't know that Columbus Day weekend (when we stayed) was a very popular weekend for people to travel to Bath county to see the beautiful fall leaves.

We had breakfast with a very nice retired couple who have stayed at several B&B and said that the Packard House was one of their favorites. Speaking of the breakfast, breakfast was served at different times and there were several options as well. One day we had toast with homemade bread and fruit, and the next day we had scrambled eggs with spinach and feta cheese, and homemade biscuits with local blueberry jam. I wish I could take those biscuits home! Yum!

A few other things, I believe there are four rooms total, and there were four couples that stayed there that weekend. Since theres only a few people, you really feel special with all the attention and personalized hospitality. The town itself is reason enough to come to Bath. Its super cute, just like you would imagine a small town would be in Maine with the local pub where probably everyone knows each other. Its also a short drive to Georgetown, which is the island off of the Bath county. The wedding took place in Georgetown, on a hill by the beach. Beautiful and romantic backdrop for a wedding.

Overall, our stay at the Packard House was a pleasant stay and a nice surprise. The B&B was a great experience and I look forward going again just to get away and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glendi411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
7.4 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pryor House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Kennebec Inn
Kennebec Inn
#1 of 5 in Bath
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Bath
The Inn at Bath
#4 of 5 in Bath
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin F. Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin F. Packard House

Address: 45 Pearl St, Bath, ME 04530-2746
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Bath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $173 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 18th century shipbuilder's home is ideally located in the heart of Bath's historic district with easy access to downtown shopping and restaurants. Relax in front of the fire in the gathering room, curl up with a good book in the library or enjoy complimentary afternoon tea in the garden. The Benjamin F. Packard House is your premier port for gracious hospitality, extreme relaxation and unsurpassed service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Benjamin F. Packard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjamin F. Packard House Bath, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing