We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Experience”

Southgate Family Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "The Best Breakfast In Town" We serve breakfast and lunch all day at affordable prices. Daily specials and gluten-free options. Family friendly environment and food. Come Join Us!
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

To be honest its just ok food. Nothing to complain about, and the prices are right. What makes this place special is the local color: the proximity to a place that actually makes something in America (the shipyard), the retirees that used to make the ships (presumably since most of them have bullet proof ball caps), and the waitresses. When you come in you're greeted before you sit down. When you sit down you get your coffee. There is a good system, unlike many restaurants full of untrained college kids. I always feel welcome. I go here when I can for breakfast and I will keep coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank island04575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a good place to start your day. The food is good and reasonably priced. It's also kid friendly with baskets of toys to keep them entertained while you wait. On occasion be prepared to wait as the place fills up fast. The place has tables that can be put together for groups up to 8.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruddell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well to start these guys are fab they managed to fill me right up!!!

We had breakfast several times and loved it each time. Yes it can get busy but heck there is the whole of BIW next door. Even so the staff should be proud of their service and the cooks the same with the food. Shame you dont delieve to the UK.

I would go back in a heart beat as its a fab place its clean, frieldy and we were said to say good bye on the last day.

Even when the navy guys came in they were rushed off their feet but keept a good service.

Over all :

Cost 10/10
Location 10/10
Clean 10/10

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Breakfast & Lunch at very low cost”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a local restaurant across the street from the Bath Iron works and Shipyard. Great home cooked fare with very reasonable prices. Just don't get caught in the Lunch crowd from the Iron works and shipyard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything taste the same”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

They say it is the best breakfast in town some may say that but... everything tastes the same from Breakfast to Lunch menu. Greasy food runs off your plate. We are locals we used to go many times a week not anymore.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank whlamp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southgate Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Southgate Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing