We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners superb,food excellent,decor yard sale and spotless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Cafe

Starlight Cafe
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
209 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Owners superb,food excellent,decor yard sale and spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in the kitchen shop ( which is excellent ) above this Cafe and could smell the aroma of fresh bread baking. When we enquired they said it was the Cafe below but that they close at 2. It was 2:05 but they welcomed us with open arms and are we glad they did. This is a true gem, the owners make wonderful food and are warm and friendly in a truly genuine way right down to the photos of the food and themselves.
We had the special of 3cheeese focaccia(fresh that day) with fresh mozzarella ,basil and tomato. The coffee was even good!
This will definitely be a return visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shiffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    21
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quaint & Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor. My husband and I truly enjoyed the spinach/turkey sandwich and the sausage vegetable soup. The cornbread was out of this world. I wanted more. Only regret was not getting the names of the man and woman that took care of us. Great personalities. She had beautiful smile and warming personality. He also had a warm personality with a touch of honery.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great People Making Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Real turkey. Really I shouldn't have to say anymore. But I will. House·made breakfast sausage and breads. This tiny place located under a block of stores in downtown Bath is truly a gem. I love the perfectly cooked eggs and the homemade anadama (sp?) bread and ghe real maple syrup. but my favorite is the turkey. Deli turkey is not food. I love the warm turkey on toasted wheat. Prices are reasonable for the quality and quantity.

This place is the real deal. The specials are usually excellent and the soups exceptional.

if you want table service ( there are tables but you order at a counter, sit down, good gets delivered piping hot and then you bus your own table) and fancy menus go somewhere else. if you want really good fresh local food perfectly prepared at a reasonable price in a friendly place then this is the place.

The review options don't allow for multiple visits but this is a weekly indulgence. So worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, quaint atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visit the Bath Maine area twice each year. The Starlight Cafe was recommended to us a few years ago and we've been visiting ever since. Great home cooked meals and friendly staff. Definitely recommend to all who visit here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimball4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming and Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you like unique places for a great breakfast this is your place. It has a smattering of kitschy antique items for sale. The cinnamon buns are huge and taste great. The owners are very friendly and helpful. You order at the counter and they deliver your meal to you. They've done a nice job of sprucing up the place after taking it over from the original owner (who was also great).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlight Cafe also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Starlight Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing