We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J R Maxwell & Co.

J R Maxwell & Co.
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful meal last weekend. We were on our way home from Reid State Park and was looking for something in Bath. Upon two trips around the block we decided to dine here. What a wonderful meal everything appetizers and the meal full of flavor definitely worth another trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizletourneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    110
    38
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a great little place to eat, good food and nice selection. We go to Bath, Me. every year and try different restaurants every time we're there. Bath has several very good places to eat that won't break the bank. This is one of them. It's a very relaxed atmosphere and right on Front Street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhondah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a fantastic meal tonight. Both myself and husband started with a cup of chowder - bit of a mistake, it was that delicious we should have had a bowl! It is really thick and creamy, a lovely texture and taste, the best chowder I have ever tasted. I went on to have the salmon in a herb crust, beautiful flavours and excellently cooked. My husband had the scallops and he said they were fabulous, so fresh. The bread at the start of the meal was good, and is very hard to resist, I did try, but failed. The waitress was very friendly, chatty between courses with conversations instigated by ourselves and very generous sharing her local knowledge as was Jeremy the chef who took time out to come and speak to us. Would not hesitate to go there again, and would make a detour.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Worth a stop!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Bring your appetite. Great variety of choices. Opted for sutffed haddock and it was an ample and very filing portion. Since this is Maine you have to try the clam chowder and it too did not miss. Pleasant place to sit and eat. Friend had chicken picante and it was very good. Very good value for what you get. Friendly staff that provided good service and suggestions. The other dishes that passed our booth all looked great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scoopC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“prime rib!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

there is no better prime rib to be had in the coastal area than what j.r. maxwells offers. superb service and great wine selection.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J R Maxwell & Co. also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to J R Maxwell & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing