We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's New Favorite”
Review of J R Maxwell & Co.

J R Maxwell & Co.
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wife's New Favorite”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My seafood loving wife says she has never had better fried clams in her life and her "crispy fries" were phenomenal!!! We started with the lobster bisque with " Chunks" of lobster, while I had fantastic French Onion soup. I had the grilled prime rib, probably @ 10oz that was nicely cooked, very tender and juicy but the loaded baked potatoes was just "ok". My wife couldn' t finish her clam plate but I ended with a delicious creme' broule. I almost forgot the loaf of warm fresh bread when we ordered. Our waitress was on top of everything, when I asked to have the grilled prime rib more on the rare side she kindly mentioned it would be more medium but quite tender. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danmichaleis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    119
    39
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I have gone here for years but a group of friends and I went the other night and much of it was inedible. My friends got the stuffed mushrooms and said they were terrible. The buffalo bites were gross and didn't seem like chicken. The soap of the night seemed straight out if the can. The service was excellent but the food was very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toryandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good food. Great bartender with a memory like an elephant. She remembered me - - nearly a year later. Nice atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank akamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Sometimes the food is great and sometimes it is ok. The hamburger was great the lobster so so in the winter. The portions are very big and it has a real Maine ambiance. We go often.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fancynancy10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the surf and turf. Asked for med-rare steak and not to over cook the lobster. Received well-done meat and could not even crack the lobster shell. Friends with us expressed displeasure with their order also. Last time for me...Additionally, service was very slow and there were very few people eating!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J R Maxwell & Co. also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to J R Maxwell & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing