We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise gem”

Kennebec Tavern & Marina
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Surprise gem”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a wonderful surprise gem!! It sit upon the Kennebec River so during the day the view would be spectacular. We were there for dinner and Michelle, our waitress was one of the best who I ever had the pleasure to be served by. She knew all about the dishes on the menu as well as questions regarding how they were prepared. Two items on the menu really caught my interest and just had to try. The first was fried parsnips, yes parsnips, with a dash of salt. Most people have never tried or bothered with this understated veggie, but have been part of my cooking for a number of years. The parsnips were sliced or shaved and then flash fried being crisp, sweet and the salt added the perfect combination. The second wonderful item was the the smoked tomato soup with chives and croutons. The tomatoes are smoked then cooked down and slightly pureed leaving body in the soup with the chives nicely dissolved with crisp croutons floating in the mixture. We finished with a couple of large salads with chicken, which was cooked to perfection on top of a huge mound of greens and such. Give this place a try and you will not be disappointed!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    143
    75
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch on the River”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We always make it a habit of stopping for lunch when visiting Bath. Outdoor dining on the banks of the mighty Kennebec River doesn't get any better, fantastic service and food, try the fried clams!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bath,ME Hampton Inn. This restaurant is across the street. I normally do not order the fried fish but this was very good as was my wife's clams. Service was very good as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 192jerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen cove
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The view makes up for little slip-ups”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A recent lunch on the deck was enjoyable for the view and the lobster roll. Haddock sandwich had the slimmest piece of haddock inside and the promised spicy dressing was so benign as to be disappointing. We were a bit taken aback for having been charged 50 cents for a side of mayo to go with the fries. Really? What's next? Billing for ketchup? Didn't bother to bring it up, though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Lunch in Bath”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We decided on the tavern for lunch. It was a little cool so we sat inside. The service was not great. Actually people came in after us, and they got waited on first. We finally brought it to the staffs attention, and they were very apologetic. The food and drinks were good. Nothing to write home about. A little pricey for an average lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmosis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennebec Tavern & Marina also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Woolwich, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kennebec Tavern & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing