We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haddock Ruben - must try!”

Kennebec Tavern & Marina
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
miami
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Haddock Ruben - must try!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is centrally located with good water view. But we are more interested in the quality of the food so I can highly recommend a particular dish here.. The haddock Ruben was excellent!! the service here was extraordinarily friendly and prompt. Reasonable prices, good portions and family friendly. I would not recommend this for a romantic dinner, but for a quick lunch or casual dinner and good selection - it's first rate. Easy to find and convenient parking. (For anyone staying at the Hampton Inn Bath across the street, this is a no brainier - must do restaurant!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aboutmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    142
    72
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprising good for a waterfront restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Usually those waterfront restaurants rely on their view and don't concentrate on their food. So we were quite surprised to find great food and reasonably priced lunch here I had the fried clams (delicious and perfectly done) and my wife had the Haddock Ruben sandwich -- another steller choice -- we hit the daily double that day for lunch. Wait staff was all young college girls and they did a fine job. Definitely would go back here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodguy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous view of the river. Great menu selections. Attentive staff.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We look forward to going back several times a year. Beautiful view of the big, clean Kennebec River. While dining you'll see sailboats and family boats and perhaps a working fisherman.

The large dining room sports big windows so every diner can enjoy. There's also a large bar, usually in full buzz. And there's a huge outdoor deck area that literally abuts the pier where the boats tie up. Bath is small and you can walk to Kennebec Tavern from most anywhere.

The food is pretty good and some servings are excellent. Plenty of fresh lobster, steamers, baked seafoods, also nice steaks, salads and appetizers. The menu is essentially New England fare, and I say that in a good way. We have been pleased with our meals here and we keep coming back.

It's a nice walk up to Front Street where the shops are. And of course the gigantic Bath Iron Works and the huge cranes that tower over the work site is just a couple more blocks down river.

You'll be pleased with your dining experience at Kennebec, Attentive staff. Well managed operation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mango_kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Shipshape”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After visiting the shpyard museum a little sustinace is required. Kennebec fills the bill. Now the students are available to wait tables service was speedy. Clams and fish are a speciality and prices are reasonable.Good selection of draft and bottled beers and wine by the glass. One large plate with a beer comes in well below $20 so careful selection canmake this a very reasonable choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinbwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good food, but....”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice setting, good food, very slow service. They seemed overwhelmed and short of help, so our food took a long time...slow to help us and bring us our bill. Had to get up and get someone to bring the bill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyJoshandRembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennebec Tavern & Marina also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kennebec Tavern & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing