We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have never had service that bad”

Kennebec Tavern & Marina
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I have never had service that bad”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our waiter also had tables outside and would be gone for long periods of time. We asked other more attentive waiters in our area for items as we needed them. It took 45 minutes to get our entrees, at lunch. Despite it being withing walking distance of our hotel, we wouldn't go back there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    143
    73
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Inconsistent quality”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We live down the road from Bath, but have never tried the Kennebec Tavern. Business associates in for the weekend prompted this visit. People here were very friendly.

Since we support local fishermen whenever we do go out, I was surprised when the waitress told us the mussels were not from the Damariscotta River, but from Prince Edward Island. So, no mussels. Asked whether the steamers were from the Clam Hunter (absolutely the world's cleanest) from down the road in Phippsburg... blank stare. After some asking, the best we could glean (even after they checked with the kitchen) was that they were "from around here". No steamers. Haddock? Absolutely fresh from here! OK, haddock. Calamari? Yes, also fresh.

The biggest disappointment was the lobster my friend ordered. If I had caught that one, I would have thrown it back as being too small. How they had the nerve to serve it was beyond me, especially now, when there is an oversupply of lobster and prices are literally in the toilet. It really looked more like a crayfish than a lobster. I was embarassed for our state, and for our lobster fishermen. The rest of our food was good, except some got hot fries while other's were cold.

Service was not the fastest, especially when the restaurant was not all that crowded to begin with. All in all, glad we went, but would think twice about returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice View, but painfully slow”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've been to the Kennebec Tavern several times, and they have been consistent in their food and service each time. Their food is good, but nothing to rave about. We go to this restaurant because of the location and view. It is one of the few places in the area that has seating right by the water, which is very nice in the summer. Unfortunately, their dinner service is painfully slow. They have lots of seating, so we've never waited to get seated, but it seems their kitchen capacity does not match their seating capacity. We went there for dinner last night (a Tuesday night), and ordered two appetizers, and a salad and it took over an hour to get our food. We had to get up and ask for our bill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALamb8512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy people, good food, ample drinks, and ever changing river”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great view from the summer deck, but equally fascinating to watch ice going out in spring. Open year round and every day. Solid food and drink: I like the crab cakes and a glass of Reisling. Congenial bartender and waitresses.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missyoumrwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
484 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Mandatory Eating”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great food coupled with killer views sitting along the river is what a trip to Maine is all about We ate here four times during our trip and each time it got better

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennebec Tavern & Marina also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kennebec Tavern & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing