We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mae's Cafe

Mae's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast and Lunch all day along with amazing baked goods. Healthy, gluten free and Paleo options available.
Woolwich, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We live locally in beautiful Bath Maine.

Mae's is an outstanding choice for breakfast, lunch or brunch. They're open 7 days a week 8:00am to 3:00pm.

Breakfasts are a work of art at Mae's. They have eight different types of Benedicts.... Lobster and Avocado Benedict is my personal favorite. They also have breakfast sandwiches, omelets, waffles, French toast and pancakes. You will have no problem satisfying even the pickiest eater.....They have it all!!!!

Lunches are also wonderful....Sandwiches, wraps salads, paninis, Reubens burgers...Oh My.

And if that were not enough, they have homemade pies, cakes, cookies, scones.

They have a full service bar and outdoor seating in the summer.

I highly recommend Mae's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 59Wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    66
    9
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rather awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

great atmosphere. Amazing food. Amazing pastries. Not cheap but fair for what you get. I've only been to breakfasts, and they are GREAT!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

What I like best about Mae's are there stickey buns. They just fly out the door as soon as they are open. If you're late, don't worry as the rest of the menue is fab!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Reighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and GF too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I eat at Mae's weekly... there I said it. I usually drop in for breakfast after a good workout and come back again and again because it's that good. They also have GF Udi's bread which is so nice because eggs without bread are just grim. The salads are fresh and imaginative, my husband enjoys all the stuffed french toasts that they can come up with, which are lush and full of good things ( berries, cream, butter need I say more). Even though I eat GF it doesnt mean they don't have all the other things that others enjoy.But don't stop there.... their bakery is equally delish and they carry GF favorites. Mine would be the brownies with a coating of chocolate ganache and a walnut that will make you ask- can this really be GF?? The wait staff is wonderful and accomidating. They recognize and enjoy the regulars as well as the newly initiated- it's a very cozy family atmosphere that along with the delicious food will keep you coming back for more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wongobark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wide selection and Gluten-free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

For those looking for gluten-free or wheat-free food in Maine, Mae's has a great selection of choices. The lazy lobster salad lobster pieces were a little small, but it was deep winter when I visited. Call ahead for gluten-free cakes and desserts, but they have gluten-free cookies on hand every day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abovethetreeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae's Cafe also viewed

Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mae's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing