We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maine Maritime Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Maritime Museum

Maine Maritime Museum
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maine Maritime Museum is located on a beautiful 20-acre campus on the banks of the Kennebec River in Bath, Maine. Indoors, visitors enjoy air-conditioned galleries with exhibits and hands-on activities for all ages. Outdoors, visitors can join a guided tour or stroll through the historic Percy & Small shipyard and see how many of the world's largest wooden sailing ships were built, learn about lobstering in the Maine Coast and Lobstering Exhibit, enjoy lunch under the towering sculpture of the schooner Wyoming (the largest wooden sailing vessel built in North America), watch wooden boats being built in the Museum boat ship, or play on a pirate ship. Seasonally, visitors can get the best view of the area's lighthouses and spectacular scenery on daily cruise boats, learn the story of Bath Iron Works from shipyard insiders who then guide a windshield tour of views of the shipyard, and tour the Victorian-era home of the Donnel shipbuilding family.
Kvil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maine Maritime Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Bath and Phippsburg are noted as the City of Ships because back as far as the 1700s tall ships and currently military vessels are made there

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank weberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    90
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Come on. Come on. There's more to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The museum in side would be of interest to people interesting in ship building or engineering, but come on outside there's much more to see! Don't miss the demonstration on how to put the boat in the water. My trip to the christening of a boat left me wondering how this was done. Cyrus did a wonderful job with the entertaining demonstration. Don't miss the Lobsta' Barn (see photo) and the documentary film. There is a play ground for the children built like a ship. Snacks, too. Depending on the wheelchair and the driver whether the outside could be navigated.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MajorJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGarrison, Public Relations Manager at Maine Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We're glad you had a good time at MMM and took the time to post your comments. Many people enjoy the ship launching demo and all the younger kids love the pirate play ship. By the way, plans are underway for an exciting update of the Lobstering in Maine exhibit, which was completed in the mid 1990s. Completion is expected by early summer 2015. We hope you stop on your next trip to Maine and check out the improvements..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“History lives here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Superb museum - the past incredibly influences Maine's present and this museum gives you the whys and hows of that influence. It is beautifully curated and presented in a luring fashion. Not dry at all - kids will love it.
The museum store is incredible with a books galore - well organized and ranged with everything from cookbooks to maritime history to naturalist guides to practical sailing skills.
Lots of it is outside in separate buildings near the water. Guided tours are included. There are boat trips with guides which are extra.
It's next door to Bath Iron Works which is amazing too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deedee011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGarrison, Public Relations Manager at Maine Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for your very favorable comments. We're always inspired when a visitor captures so much of the story that is MMM. I'll pass along your comments to the Museum Store manager. She does a great job, especially in the books section. Please stop in again when you're in this neck of the woods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another Place During D&L's Travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great for families or any one that's wants to learn history. Make sure you catch the tour. Plan on spending some time. It is not designed for people in a rush. My daughter and I was there 18 yrs ago and it just got bigger and better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGarrison, Public Relations Manager at Maine Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Duane, Thanks for the kind words. We particularly like the "gotten better" comment. We certainly encourage visitors to take the free guided tour of the shipyard as well. It certainly puts a lot of what's here in perspective. Hope you don't wait another 18 years to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding museum - exceed our expectatons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you are interested in maritime history, this is a must see. It is designed around the actual site where wooden ships were built. There are docents and tours of the buildings. We took a book tour of the river and went by the Bath Iron Works and saw the new US Navy destroyers being built.
We have expected to spend a few hours at the museum but spent most of the day. Well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna32958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGarrison, Public Relations Manager at Maine Maritime Museum, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Donna, Thanks for your post. It's surprising how often we hear folks say that they planned to stop for an hour or two and ended up spending the entire day. That's why we let our visitors return for a free 2nd day within a week. There's just so much to see and do at MMM. I do want everyone to know that Donna meant to say that they took a BOAT cruise to see Navy destroyers being built. Darn AUTO-CORRECT! We do have a lot of interesting and large books about boats in the bookstore, but not one that you can cruise the Kennebec River aboard. Hope to see you again soon and have a good trip back to Sebastian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Maine Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing