We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
DO NOT MISS this Museum

I love museums. I LOVE anything maritime. I do believe this is one of the BEST museums I've ever... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Z4lover
,
Ashland City, Tennessee
A working museum!

There are so many interesting things to see at this working museum. It still restores wooden boats... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Wahoo428
,
Augusta, Georgia
Read all 600 reviews
  
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveler rating
464
117
16
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
117
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ship building bath iron works boat tour kennebec river outdoor exhibits shipbuilding industry main building bath area masted schooner blacksmith shop nautical history great exhibits knowledgeable docents all ages kids will love several buildings three hours
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 600 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived early. So interesting for anyone ...especially if interested in boating, history, shipbuilding. There was so much to see...an hour boat cruise (for $10 more), a ships captains home, many other buildings associated with the history of shipbuilding in Maine. There was a very small building where snacks were sold. It was easy to spend many hours there. There were also many photo opportunities on land as well as on the cruise. Would return to see what we didn't have time for although we were there about 3 hours.

Thank Arline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staying at the nearby (highly recommended) 1774 Inn we took the opportunity to visit the Maine Maritime museum. It really is an excellent place to visit. Interesting exhibits brought to life by a great team of visitors. We took the museum's lighthouse tour and cannot recommend it highly enough. Combined with the entrance fee this is tremendous value for money. Like the museum's tour of Bath Iron works, worth booking ahead.

Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great place to take the family or just stroll thru by yourself. So many interesting things to say and grounds are beautiful. Got some great pictures to share with the family.

1  Thank LSUE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We three sisters went to this museum expecting to zip through and move on to something we thought we'd like more, BUT, we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves leaving four hours later, only because we were too tired to do more! The museum is really interesting, even for people not particularly interested in boats, partly because the displays are so thoughtfully presented, the narratives so specific, the guides so enthusiastic, and the exhibits themselves so intrinsically worthwhile. We loved it!

2  Thank Theresa080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGarrison, Public Relations Manager at Maine Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks Theresa080 - we think you're pretty special too! Hope you were able to take advantage of the free 2nd day of visiting we give our guests. We do that because some folks who haven't heard about MMM drop in planning to spend an hour or so, only to discover there's so much to see, do and learn they end up spending much more time here. Hopefully, they hadn't planned their vacation so tightly that it throws everything off schedule. Of course, there's always next year. Be sure to say hello to all our friends in NJ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Much more then I expected. The exhibits are well presented. The written descriptions are interesting and full of information that was new to me. The guides were all terrific and their oral histories, fascinating. We spent the entire day there and did not see it all, and had no desire to move on either. We took an hour boat cruise for about $10 more than the admissions ticket, and it was well worth it. The Bath Iron Works tour was already full for the day. They should mention that this fills up early. The snack cafe was closed and without any other place to eat on grounds we left very hungry by 5:00.

2  Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGarrison, Public Relations Manager at Maine Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback Limulus. We are sorry the BIW tour was sold out the day you visited. In all our advertising and brochures, we try to alert everyone to the fact that there's limited space and it's a very popular tour. Articles written by others don't always stress the importance of advanced reservations. The on-site snack cafe is open from 11am to 3pm, 7 days a week during the summer season only. But there are some incredible places to dine in Bath, just a mile or so down the street. We hope you discovered one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews