We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, nice area, clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bass Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Harbor Cottages and Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Harbor
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Connie was sweet! Cooked my first live lobsters in the kitchenette ! Nemo's down the street was an very interesting bar to see.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mztylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Bass Harbor Cottages and Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

Master Bedroom had a King Sized Bed. Guest Bedroom had Twin Beds. Both bathrooms had stall showers. Kitchen had refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cook top but no oven.
Kitchen area had a table and four chairs. Living room was open to the kitchen. An outside deck was large and connected to living room and master bedroom with a nice view of Bass Harbor harbor. Parking for two cars. The water's edge was about 100 feet with grass and trees and then a rocky edge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We rented one of the self catering cottages. Although there were warning signs when we booked, no visitors after 9, we had explained that relatives might drop by during the day for a coffee or to meet up for a trip. Our stay was spoiled on day one when confronted by proprieter's passive / aggressive attitude when said brother in law duly arrived mid-afternoon to visit. We thought it was unfriendly, heavy handed, paranoid and spoilt the start of our holiday. As a consequence we spent very little time at the property during the rest of the week.

So, a rather expensive way to get 3 bedrooms for a week ($1700). The property was small, reasonably appointed and clean but was close to the 2 other properties and the B&B. It had the feel of a let in someone's back yard. Overall, in this lovely part of Maine, there will certainly be better value and more relaxed and welcoming options available so look around.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband came to Bass Harbor Cottages and Inn for our honeymoon. We are the outdoor-type so Maine was perfect for us. Connie let us check in about 4 hours early - which was a blessing. She walked us down to the Pine Cottages to make sure we had all that we needed. The cottage took us by surprise a bit - it had the feel of an old-fashion cottages that has been updated numerous times. It is a lovely place. During our stay the fireplace (which is the heat source) stopped working. Connie and her husband responded quickly to fix the problem. They advised us of a back up heat source and even gave us a certificate for a free dinner - which they didn't have to do, we were more than understanding!!!! The only things I would change - blinds on the large living room window, and a dvd player for a movie night. If you are the 4-star hotel type of person, you may want to look elsewhere. If you don't mind cozy, waterside, and don't need 24/7 service, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed in the Loft apartment of the Boathouse for 3 nights. Connie was welcoming and helpful on arrival and provided us with maps of the local area. The apartment is comfortable and the views over the harbor beautiful. We were lucky enough to see some great sunsets.

My two small criticisms are that the hotwater tank seems small as we ran out of hot water a couple of times when showering. The kitchen area could also be better equipped as it's very basic if you are trying to cook a proper meal.

The Bass Harbor/Quietside of Acadia is beautiful and if you are looking for tranquility and natural beauty I would highly recommend this area over Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HLNL06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I was shocked. The Bass Harbor Country Cottages and Country Inn should be called "Rooms to Let". We stayed in room 2 of the "Inn". There is nothing "inn-like" about the Bass Harbor Inn.
The propietor was hostile (and I should say I am an easy going avid traveler and have a 'let's make this work' attitude). The 'innkeeper' demanded our balance due upon arrival. My 'red flag' had gone up in the email reservation/confirmation we received that clearly showed that once you make your reservation, you can't get a refund no matter how far in advance you cancel UNLESS she can re-rent the room from her--i.e. I could tell that follks had demanded their money back in the past. We never saw her again over the next 3 days. We were sent to our room with a couple of extra coffee packs and that was it. We had to wash out our styrofoam coffee cups each day as we were only provided with one each for the 3 days we were there. There was no common sitting area in "the inn", the trash was not emptied (nor were we provided with information as to where to dispose of it on our own), the sink and tub were rust stained, the hallway had a stinky fake country apple mister that went off every 15 seconds. Thank goodness there was a fan in the room to help move that stink out. No breakfast nor muffin here.
Don't call yourself an inn and charge 90 bucks a night. Call yourself a boarding house and you could get away with 50 a night.
Having been to the Acadia region over a dozen times- the geography is the thing so we had a great trip and I wasn't going to let this get me down. I just don't like to be taken, and taken with a passive-agressive smile. Bad vibe.


  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank RockyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Harbor
4.4 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
193 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
11.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Harbor Cottages and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Harbor Cottages and Country Inn

Address: 95 Harbor Dr, Bass Harbor, Tremont, Mount Desert Island, ME 04653-3403
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Tremont > Bass Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Harbor
Price Range: $75 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bass Harbor and Blue Hill Bay, our waterfront cottages offer a perfect setting for vacation or retreat. Watch the tide change from your deck or launch your kayak with the tide from our private rocky beach. Stay in one of our quaint queen rooms at the Country Inn and stroll down to the shore to watch the lobster boats and sailing ships. We are minutes from Acadia's Bass Harbor Head Light and twenty minutes from Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Bass Harbor
Bass Harbor Country Inn
Bass Harbor Cottages And Country Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing