We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great cruise

We really enjoyed our cruise with Island Cruises. It was very informative about life in the area... read more

Reviewed March 8, 2019
Melinda O
Sunset sail

Captain Sarge took us out on a beautiful evening sail, out towards the Gott Islands and Swans... read more

Reviewed December 15, 2018
JSRNewYork
,
New York
Read all 357 reviews
  
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
342
9
0
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
342
9
0
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain eli lobster fishing nature cruise lobster trap lunch cruise harbor seals lobster industry bald eagles salmon farm saw seals fishing village fishing industry bar harbor boat ride both sides great cruise two hours
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 357 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Captain Eli is a Captain's Captain, with complete control of his vessel throughout the entire cruise. He's personable and friendly and I get the impression he could give this tour in his sleep, it's just that well honed.

Thorough, educational, entertaining and enlightening, Captain Eli talks about a wide variety of interesting topics and gives insights that only an insider would have.

Lobster fishing: history, regulations, sustainability, market demands, costs, prices, competition, local control and more.

Surrounding islands: Settlement history, families, industry, decline in populations, conservancy, challenges of island living, etc.

Wildlife: Variety, migration, diet, predators, populations, etc.

Aquaculture: Environmentally responsible methods and practices, populations, predators and protection measures, costs, systems, controls, etc.

The harbor and surrounding islands are breathtaking and Captain Eli works his magic to make sure that everyone gets an up close look by maneuvering the craft to allow passengers on both sides of the RL Gott to get up close and personal with the sights we all hope to see.

Aside of all the wildlife we were witness to, we saw the Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse, Swans Island, Long Island and Frenchboro, Black Island, Marshall Island, Great Duck Island, Great Gott Island, Little Gott Island and many others, along with miles and miles of majestic rocky, tree-lined coasts.

At the end of the tour, when the weather took a slight turn, Captain Eli made sure of the comfort and safety of all his guests, by pulling down the port side curtains, to keep us all from getting soaked on the way back into the harbor.

Having enjoyed this cruise immensely, I decided to check out all the reviews, including the negative ones. I must say that (1) the few negative experiences were pretty much unavoidable and (2) in most cases the reviews are COMPLETELY unwarranted. It's also no surprise to me to see how Captain Eli has responded personally to each and every one of them, honestly and compassionately in keeping with his complete and utter professionalism.

People leaving unwarranted negative reviews are not the only undesirable issue that Captain Eli and his crew have to deal with. On our cruise, there were a handful of passengers who thought that they were the only people on the boat and even though they literally had the front row seats, would stand up at every interesting sight or activity, which blocked all the other people from seeing anything any of it. These folks also raced back and forth all over the boat as if it was a playground. Captain Eli kept his cool and suggested that he'd continue as soon as everyone was seated so that all could get a view.

All I can say is this dude is a class act and he runs a tight ship. If we ever venture back to Maine, this is a stop we we will make again and we will tell all of our friends.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank NFLMVP412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

We wanted a private boat tour that would give us a look at the Mount Desert Island area from the water. This company did not disappoint. Captain Eli runs a professional, clean business . We went out at 5 pm for a sunset tour. We got an excellent tour of the islands around Bass Harbor. We learned all about lobster fishing, the history of the local families that inhabit the islands. Saw seals and bald eagels and a beautiful sunset. I highly recommend this company!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank alexis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

I'm so glad we took an afternoon nature cruise with Island Cruises. The weather was kinda cold and overcast off and on, but it just didn't matter. There's nothing else like getting out on the water and seeing some of the islands and the wildlife. We saw some seals, porpoises, birds, including a bald eagle, etc. One nice thing is getting to see Bass Harbor head light from the ocean point of view. There are lots of opportunities for getting some great photos during the cruise. But really, what makes it especially worthwhile is the information you can learn about lobster fishing, life out on the islands, some history and even info about farm-raised salmon. Very interesting stuff, and I feel like I have a better appreciation for all of it. I highly recommend taking one of these cruises.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Love this cruise. Always beautiful and very informative. We saw seals, porpoise, bald eagles, and lots of sea birds. Captain Eli shares his knowledge of the history of lobstering and the surrounding islands in a very entertaining way. It’s a must when you come to Acadia. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank LCL1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

We learn new things every time! Thank you Eli and Sarah. This trip seemed to be the best yet! We’re still talking today (and telling family) about new things we learned. (But Eli, a local lobsterman says the color of the band means nothing!).

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank hijeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews