We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - Horrible experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bass Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Harbor Campground
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location - Horrible experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We were unlucky. This campground was recommended as being on the quiet side of the island. The sites are close together and it was anything but quiet. We didn't sleep either night we stayed there. Although the location is amazing and the facilities fairly clean, the staff does not enforce the hours advertised as quiet time to respect neighbors. I suppose if you want to party untethered, you could go there. We loved the area, but would never go back to the campground. Try Seawall, part of Acadia instead.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineCoastalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    5
    9
    2
See reviews for
21
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east coast
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2008

The campground is rather washed out with ruts and mud from a week ago rain storm with no apparent repair started. In general a very used look and lack of maintenance appearance like overgrown grass, difficult walking caused by many loose rocks on the roads, mosquitoes, 5 gallon container full of water very dark at night with no lights etc. They advertise Wi Fi so I expect my Mac to work as it had in every park but the owners only response was “mine works fine”. I had to go in town to the library for needed internet connection which was with Wi FI. Overall the poorest camp stayed at on my trip.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank visch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We went during the off season in June and booked site C23. In June, this side of the campgrounds are usually empty at this time and we were the only ones on that side! The employees and owners were very very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank blanc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee, ma.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We recently spent a few nights over Labor day weekend at Bass Harbor Campground near Acadia National Park. The sites were very nice. Most were a little close for our preference, but we were able to find a secluded enough spot. The Campground is very well tended to. Very Clean with all necessary ammedments. Showers,laundromat,dish washing area, play area for children, and rec hall with wireless internet and t.v. The owners were very attentive to all details. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again. The campground is quite close to the national park and close enough to Bar Harbor.
We would recommend it.

Helpful?
3 Thank chantarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Harbor
5.0 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
85 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
12.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ann's Point Inn
Ann's Point Inn
#1 of 3 in Bass Harbor
93 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Harbor Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Harbor Campground

Property: Bass Harbor Campground
Address: 342 Harbor Dr, Route 102A, Bass Harbor, Tremont, Mount Desert Island, ME 04653-3221
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Tremont > Bass Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bass Harbor
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Bass Harbor Campground Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing