We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM ... TRULY”
Review of Bass Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bass Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Bass Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First, when reading others reviews, take stock of where the inn is, and what it is. This ain't the Hilton so don't expect it to be. Go to Bar Harbor, try one of the hotels, and compare the VALUE for your $$$$

My new wife and I were on our honeymoon. We are in our 50's and wanted to explore the natural wonders found on Mt. Desert Island. We brought our hiking shoes, bikes, and a positive attitude.

We stayed in a first floor room our first night, and moved up to the 3rd. floor studio for the remainder of our stay. Weather did NOT cooperate. The only reason we knew we were near the ocean was watching the tide rise and fall, fogged in for 3 days. BUT.. we had a positive experience. The proprietors were very nice to us, and were as helpful as one would expect. Breakfast was good, and the fresh baked goods appreciated.

Could the towels be softer or bigger... sure... but we didn't expect them to be, this is a MAINE vaction rental... it gives everything you need at a fair price.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with private showers are small, this a a MAINE vacation, bring your flip flops and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Poor upkeep and in need of updating and basic maintainance. Window coverings for privacy, and adult-size bath towels are basics missing from this inn. Easy walk to ferry and harbor. Quiet location. Disappointed and I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrapper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Inn is lovely - our room was very comfortable and was decorated simply and tastefully. Breakfast was ample. The proprietors were very friendly and personal. Very nicely set on the quiet side of the Island, which suited us just fine.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aryeh_E1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Bass Harbor is a brilliant option if you want to get away from the maddening crowd. We were there over a weekend in September and huge cruise ships pulled into Bar Harbor making it rather touristy and overrun – were only too pleased to retreat to the quiet side of the island which is only a 30 minute drive from Bar Harbor. Would recommend staying here if you want to relax. If you want to do lots of activities, its probably best to stay near Bar Harbor where there are lots of service providers for tours, hiring bikes, restaurants and shops. Bass Harbor literally has 1 restaurant and a small convenience store/gas station. South West harbor nearby has a few more options and is only a 5 min drive away.

The house itself is great – a quirky old house built by Scandinavians in the 1800’s. We also liked Barbara who owns the inn – she was chatty at breakfast and very helpful when we needed tourism advice.

We stayed in the top room which is a large space with a kitchenette, dining table, sitting area and 2 double beds. It also had a balcony which was great for having sundowners. We stayed in and cooked both nights and found the kitchen pretty well equipped.

Our room, although mostly clean, was in need of updating. The place smells a bit musty and old – which isn't unusual for such and old house in the middle of a very hot and humid September, but I also got the feeling that nothing is ever replaced. The carpet is musty, the couch is threadbare and the kitchen cupboards are filled with all sorts of pots and utensils that don’t look like they’ve been used or even taken out and cleaned in years. Some fresh linen, a new couch and carpet and a good spring clean would make a huge improvement.

Breakfast is a casual affair in kitchen the main house downstairs. Its the owners kitchen as well so there isn't much space to sit – just a few chairs, a small table and a sofa. We didn’t feel uncomfortable here and the selection of cereals, breads with jam and cream cheese, fresh coffee and orange juice was fine for us. Like many of the cheaper B&Bs in New England this is the type of accommodation where you are a guest in someone’s house, so would recommend if you enjoy a personable and homey type experience and arent too fussy about everything being spotless and in perfect condition. I would give it a 3.5 if that were an option...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a few days. The people who run the bed-and-breakfast are helpful and friendly, and they know a lot about all of Mount Desert Island. The rooms are very clean, with fresh cut flowers from the garden. The area is quiet. All in all, it is the best bed-and-breakfast we have ever encountered. - Yes, recommended without qualifications. ---- Ossining Bob

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OssiningBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This charming place with a view of Bass Harbor is quiet and friendly. The morning conversations are interesting. We have everything we need for a relaxing stay, while still in range of the fabulous Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Unfortunately we could only stay one night the owner met us and was warm and friendly she gave us a free upgrade to a lake view room. It had a half bath (just a toilet and basin) with an open fire grate with wood to burn! The room was very comfortable with a lovely mix of old furniture rather than MDF found in most motels. Breakfast was very relaxed from 7-10. This is served in a help yourself way. We had super restaurant recommendations and places to swim. The showers were clean. Having stayed in many B&B's I would rate this as one of the best the location is great away from the crowds, relaxed warm and friendly if you are planning a stay in the area stay here

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshirecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Harbor
4.7 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ann's Point Inn
Ann's Point Inn
#1 of 3 in Bass Harbor
97 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Harbor Inn

Address: 28 Shore Rd., Bass Harbor, Tremont, Mount Desert Island, ME 04653-3450
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Tremont > Bass Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bass Harbor
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bass Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing