We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hour glass harbor”

Ship Harbor Nature Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic hiking trail winds around a tiny cove.
Bass Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hour glass harbor”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ship Harbor is an inlet in the shape of an hourglass. Come in at high tide and at low tide you are blocked in at the pinch point. Maybe in and out by kayak at low tide. This is a very popular hike for visitors. The well marked trail is in the shape of the figure eight. The trail requires some scrambling over roots and rocks. Not for the handicapped or baby strollers. If you take small children, be prepared to carry them on a few parts of the trail. Very scenic and we hike this several times each summer. Parking and access are good. If the lot is full park along the roadway.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    20
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a stop on your trip.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you don't love the rigors of steep hikes but love the idea of being outdoors in a beautiful setting, this trail is for you. We parked in the dinky lot and took off on the trail to the left. Along the way we noticed a couple of boys jumping off a huge boulder on the opposite sit. Right out of Norman Rockwell's archives. I wouldn't try the hike in wet or icy weather since it can be slippery. But on a sunny day in warm weather, it's worth the effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsayspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy forest & shoreline hike”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hike leads to a calm inlet lined by rocky shore. The shoreline varies from small stones to large granite outcroppings. there are some tide-pools that one can get to with moderate climbing. There are minimal elevation changes, but the path has many areas where roots stick out, so it is more than a stroll. Parking lot is small.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect walk for hikers of all ages - Flat/Easy”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This short walk has spectacular views, a moderately smooth dirt and gravel path, berry picking along the way to a spectacular view. If you wander off the path towards the large rocky areas you'll find a few wild blueberry bushes - not a lot, but a few in season.

My 3.5 year old handled this hike well. It's long enough to be interesting but short enough I didn't have to carry her. It would be easily suitable for older folks and non-hikers as well. It's simply a pretty walk for those looking for something low key with a killer view.

The destination brings you to the ocean with tons of rocks, shells and interesting sea life. I highly recommend this walk.

Note: not bad on a rainy day either.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A perfect hike that winds a little along a forest if you take the left at the fork...On the way back , we went the other way which hugged the ocean trail. Spectacular views !!! Easy to moderate along the ocean path. We saw families with little children so definitely doable for the entire family . Definitely a gem !!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chkaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Harbor Nature Trail also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bass Harbor, Tremont
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Ship Harbor Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing