We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very acceptable place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very acceptable place to stay.”
Reviewed August 17, 2006

Reservation made on their "site" 10 days in advance.
For a one night stay Aug.6/7th last.
Bangor is very limited in hotels, this one is by the airport and my wife and I will use this again. The room we had was very modern/up to date. We had a CAA rate, so we do not have any info` regarding the breakfast, as we did not try it.

  • Liked — Up to date.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank steveof5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    220
    85
    28
    10
See reviews for
160
162
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Many of the area hotels are lumped together at the far end of the Airport property- Days Inn, Econolodge were within sight. We were not disturbed by airport noises at all. Easy to get to- Exit 182B off Route 95, first right, 3rd building. There was a funny smell in the room which we could not identify, but it was most noticeable right when we walked into the room. Within a minute or so, we were not aware of it any more. Our best guess is that they cleaned the carpets recently in our room and the smell was lingering. The staff was very welcoming at check in with a plate of homemade chocolate chip/M&M cookies available. The room was very comfortable, with four pillows on each bed of varying firmnesses and a summer weight down comforter. The room and facilities were clean and neat. The pool and hot tub were clean and welcome after a long drive. We drove about 5 minutes for dinner at "Ichabans" a Japanese restaurant; it was fabulous. The hotel is within walking distance of a Ground Round and a Howard Johnsons, and next door to an "entertainment " complex, with a movie theater. Breakfast (included) was pretty standard fare for a continental breakfast- lots of carbs, juices, make your own waffles, OK coffee. The breakfast room was filled to capacity at 7:30 Saturday AM and there was no place to sit and eat, so we just took food to our room. We would stay here again; our 11 year old loved it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cockatiel-dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Overall our stay at the Fairfield Inn in Bangor, ME was fine, but our first impression of the Inn was certainly memorable. Upon arrival at 11:30pm we were infomed that the hotel did not have any record of our reservations. We made the reservations a week before our stay and were given a confirmation number, however, the desk clerk did not have any record of such a reservation. I was very upset as I thought we would have to either sleep in the car that night or find another hotel, but the Inn did have a room available for us to stay in. I still cannot express how angry I was with this first impression.

On a more positive note, the staff made cookies every afternoon and put them on a plate on the front desk for guests to eat. They were delicious and something one would expect from a bed and breakfast.

The pool was very clean, but not large enough for lap swimming...no lane marks, so the crawl was out of the question as I almost bumped my head on the pool wall.

The parking lot resembled that of Neil Armstrong's Moon Walk as it was covered with large pot holes. My poor husband had to navigate around these hazards out of fear that we would damage our car.

The beds were very comfortable. The matresses were very soft as were the pillows. I believe the matresses were pillow tops. The moment we were in bed, we were asleep.

The front desk staff were very polite, but the cleaning staff did not seem to have any of the same niceties. They were aloof, rude, and were not very approachable. The rooms were clean, but that was just it...clean. There was no attention to detail and often certain items in the room would be overlooked: a bathroom counter top and bath tub that were still wet, the toilet paper roll not changed, yet the tip we left was not overlooked. I worked as a chamber maid in college and the room we stayed in would not have passed that hotel's inspection. Overall, I just felt that the room was cleaned for the sake of getting the job done and moving onto the next room. No pride or joy went into the job.

The continental breakfast was delicious...so much variety. Yogurt, Belgian waffles, muffins, toast, eggs, bagels, cold and hot cerelsl, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fresh fruit. A great start to our mornings in Bangor, Maine.

Would I stay at the Fairfield Inn in Bangor, ME again? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

The Fairfield Inn was a nice place to stay late at night -- or before you headed to the airport. The hotel has some nice features -- the staff was friendly, and provided me with help doing laundry, the continental breakfast was standard but nice. The problem is that the hotel was old. You could tell that the building used to be a Motel 6 that they recently renovated into a Fairfield Inn -- so you have a lot of the features you would expect at a Fairfield Inn (new beds, fancy bedding), but the rooms themselves were old, the hallways smelled and the parking lot was filled with potholes. Not that this made it a terrible experience, but for the price I would have expected more... Plus, the hotel is located way outside from Bangor downtown (in a depressing chain of chain motels) so if you are planning on visiting Bangor itself, it probably is not the best location.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
2.8 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor

Property: Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Address: 300 Odlin Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor, guests enjoy a fresh take on hotel travel. From our Bangor, Maine hotel's central location, travelers can access everything that's needed for a business or leisure trip. We offer a central location near beautiful Bay Harbor and close to the University of Maine. Our Bangor hotel's proximity to Bangor International Airport and Cross Insurance Center is ideal as well. Near our hotel, you will find restaurants and much more for your convenience. Plus, we provide our guests with a comfortable home base from which to explore or work in Bangor. Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor gives you the comforts of home, including guest rooms with deluxe Marriott bedding, mini refrigerators, and a coffee maker. When you stay with us, you receive a free continental breakfast every day. Should you need to get work done, we have an on-site business center and several meeting rooms that you are welcome to use. We offer free Wi-Fi throughout out hotel, and we boast an indoor heated pool as well as a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Bangor Hotel Bangor
Fairfield Bangor
Bangor Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing