We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot be trusted”
Review of Ramada Bangor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Bangor
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
pouch cove, nl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot be trusted”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

On July 24 this hotel refused to honour a coupon from HotelCoupons.com. Rooms were available, but the person at the reception desk said the hotel did not honour the coupons during "the season." The coupon says it is valid until August 15th. We were offered a room at a much higher rate, but we were not offered an apology for the hotel's false advertising. Instead we had a very comfortable stay at a nearby Econlodge that did honour its coupon from HotelCouopons.com. If this Ramada hotel doesn't honour its advertising committments can it be trusted to deliver on anything else it promises?

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Free_Martin_CHA, General Manager at Ramada Bangor, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear rogerbill,

The Bangor Ramada allocates up to 10 coupons per day for our walk-in customers. For your future travels, the Ramada brand website offers very attractive rates as well. Thank you for considering to stay with us.

Free Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    371
    245
    142
    72
See reviews for
467
350
51
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

On Friday July 20th 2012 I stopped at this hotel to see if they have rooms for 2 people. They said they did and offered mr a choice of rooms. when I pulled the hotel savers coupon.out now there were no rooms available at all. They said they did not have to honor the coupon. I left and went to the holiday inn across the street I was warmly received , their coupon was honored which was a lower rate than the Ramada. They also gave us water and discounts at their restaurant.

I would not have rated this hotel as this was the 2nd time that they have not honored their hotel discount coupons.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CKeith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

ESSEX JUNCTION
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very friendly, good breakfast, unlike Lewiston. Do yourselves a favor and go to Bangor. Ignore the reviews that say it's noisy; I said I needed a quiet place and they gave me a very quiet room. The wifi was easy to access although a little touchy in the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is so unbelievably outdated that I'm surprised the Ramada still attaches their name to this hotel. I got a really good price on this hotel, but otherwise, there weren't many redeeming qualities. Because there's a restaurant in the hotel, there's not even a free breakfast. No fridges in the room.

There is no elevator at this hotel. Obviously this makes it quite difficult for any elderly folks, but even for younger people, lugging your bags up hot, musty, and depressing stairwells is not a pleasant experience.

The ice machines are not located in a small room off the main hallway, but instead right in the center of the main hallway, so if you room is anywhere near it, you hear the ice machine going at all hours of the night.

The water pressure was dismal, and the tub didn't drain. The mattresses were NOT comfortable (even though they were supposedly new), so my wife and I slept in separate double beds in order to try and sleep better.

The wallpaper had stains on it. The furniture and lamps were so unbelievably out of style, that the lamp even had a yellow cord.

Overall, it was outdated. And I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonian75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Ended up staying here unexpectedly. The rooms are very large but are also very sparse. Everything was clean. Ate dinner in the lounge: typical hotel bar, no problems.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I (6 of us!) just took a vacation to Maine. We stayed for 3 days in the Ramada Inn Bangor. From the moment we came to check in, the staff couldn't be more helpful and courteous. Our room was already prepared with a fridge, a pull out bed and a pack-n-play. When we entered the room we noticed that there was a hint of cigarette odor (from the room on top of us which was a smoking room). We called the front desk and asked to be moved, Without any hesitancy they agreed and assigned a new room to us. At least twice during the stay we had to aks for additional towels and they provided us with the towels quickly and without hesitation. The room was large enough that we did not feel cramped, even though we had another bed and a pack-n-play. In addition, our kids loved swimming in the pool (and as an added bonus-there is a Go Cart/mini golf place next door).

By no means is this hotel a luxurious hotel, it is priced a bit on the high side and it is showing some age, but I would highly recommend this hotel for a family traveling to Bangor. If I happen upon Bangor in the future I would definietly consider staying again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yokodevoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel. Thought it looked okay when we entered the lobby and asked to see a room. However on closer inspection it left a lot to be desired. The halls smelled of stale cigarette smoke which was made worse by the fact that the halls aren't air conditioned. The room seemed clean and the beds were reasonably comfortable but the shower mat was dirty so I skipped showering entirely. The free wifi was an attraction but it didn't work properly. I kept getting wifi connection messages from the Econolodge next door when mine cut out. It was a relief to check out in the morning. Later we checked into the Holiday Inn Express in Waltham Boston where I was finally able to shower in a spotless tub.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiddyhawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramada Bangor, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Kiddyhawk1,

Thank you for your review. It is reviews such as yours that motivate us to keep working hard to identify ways we can better satisfy our guests. We have investiagted your comments and we can assure you they have been addressed.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope the next time you are in Bangor you will consider giving us another chance. We would love to show you our newest improvements. You can call me directly at (207) 947-6961 and I will personally see that you are very happy with your stay.

Free Martin CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Bangor

Property: Ramada Bangor
Address: 357 Odlin Road/I-95, Bangor, ME 04401-6794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bangor
#8 Family Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Bangor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangor Ramada has just finished a new renovation. Part of that renovation includes a brand new swimming pool. Our pool is the newest and largest in the area. The hotel also provides high speed wireless, shuttle service and a full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Bangor Hotel Bangor
Bangor Ramada Inn
Ramada Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing