We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General observations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for over 30 yrs and have found that it has deteriorated as far as upkeep . The mouldings are coming loose and there were holes in the top of a dresser. The chaulking around the sink is in poor state. I was unable to use my internet on the first visit as the signal was too low. This was half way down the left corridor. On my second visit, the signal was very good. This was at the very end of left wing. When we ate at the restaurant, because I only put our room number on the receipt and didn't point it out to the cashier, she neglected to deduct the 10% and said she couldn't make any change.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank HELEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 816 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was very clean and the beds really comfortable. The furniture a little on the old side. The receptionist was not the right person for the job, she needs to change her personality,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Treavor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our room was very smelly and musty and I had an allergic reaction which impacted negatively on my stay. There were ants and fruit flies in the bathroom and a stain on the bedspread . The location was good and the staff was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

was good over all,,,, service was good rooms were nice and the location was good and the price was the best thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank LEON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival - reception was excellent and prompt.
Room lacked full compliments of towels and floor looked like it had not been vacumed.
Requested towels from front desk via phone. After returning from supper, still no towels, went to get them from the front desk.
In room, bottom dresser drawers were not useable. the one on the right side was broken with front panel stuck in the unit. the left bottom drawe was difficult to slide out.
The sink by the door, I had to fix the plunger. The sink in the bathroom had plunger problens as well. The water in the bath tub was extremely slow in emptying. The question below of Continental Breakfast - there was none.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank PEEP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We actually stay two nights Monday and Thursday. Both rooms were very tired and could us some refreshing although the second rm 220 was slightly better than the first. The lady waiting tables in the restaurant on Tuesday morning was fantastic so much energy and hustle to serve everyone as promptly as she could.

Very strong odor in the stairway on our first night stay, not so bad on the second night,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank HsppyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
QUISPAMSIS
1
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excallent hotel to stay at when away for a shopping trip...very accessible location to all exits for shopping.. We will definetely stay at Howard Johnson's again in the future..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
654 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Address: 336 Odlin Rd, I-95 & I-295, Bangor, ME 04401-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bangor Hotel Bangor
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing