We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
FREDERICTON JUNCTION
1 review
“3 Night Stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival - reception was excellent and prompt.
Room lacked full compliments of towels and floor looked like it had not been vacumed.
Requested towels from front desk via phone. After returning from supper, still no towels, went to get them from the front desk.
In room, bottom dresser drawers were not useable. the one on the right side was broken with front panel stuck in the unit. the left bottom drawe was difficult to slide out.
The sink by the door, I had to fix the plunger. The sink in the bathroom had plunger problens as well. The water in the bath tub was extremely slow in emptying. The question below of Continental Breakfast - there was none.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PEEP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    273
    147
    64
    84
See reviews for
209
276
80
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We actually stay two nights Monday and Thursday. Both rooms were very tired and could us some refreshing although the second rm 220 was slightly better than the first. The lady waiting tables in the restaurant on Tuesday morning was fantastic so much energy and hustle to serve everyone as promptly as she could.

Very strong odor in the stairway on our first night stay, not so bad on the second night,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank HsppyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excallent hotel to stay at when away for a shopping trip...very accessible location to all exits for shopping.. We will definetely stay at Howard Johnson's again in the future..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This has to have been the worst hotel I have stayed at in the past few years. Starting with the front desk there orange faced lady working answered the phone as she was checking us in and yelled "SIR you called here 3 minutes ago I haven't had a chance to do anything!" and then hung up the phone. She didn't raise her voice- she yelled into the phone. We were checked in and went to our room which was a disaster. The mirror was cracked, there was mold in the shower, and the dresser was broken and had missing drawers.

The kicker - the coffee pot was on heater mode for god knows how long. The room smelled like burning and the coffee pot was steaming it was so hot.

At one point I called the front desk and asked for a cab and the lady answered with "what" and told us that it was too busy and to go wait outside for a cab like everyone else and then hung up.

The hotel was not safe at all, the hotel safe was locked shut and I called downstairs to have her open it. She informed me that she didn't know the pin and that should the guy who knows the pin come by he would unlock it .. it was never unlocked.

There are two entrances to the hotel and the main door entrance is not supervised but you require a key card - they lock is duck taped over so ANYBODY can enter the hotel. I asked the front desk about the security flaw and she told me that it doesn't matter as anybody can just walk by her there and she may not notice. She literally admitted to how unsafe the hotel was.

Worst part of it was that the whole room was a disaster there is a handwritten note in the room that asks for tips.

Plus side the bed was comfy and the unsecured "hotspot" wireless internet is quite fast.

Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at here Aug 22, 2012, we went for a concert, when we checked in the girl gave us directions 4 different times, because she kept mixing up our room numbers. Then we went to open our room and a spanish man came out yelling......they were renovating, then they had to call someone from front desk again to give us another room, which happened to be the 1st room she started us in. we went down to the pool and the cleaner they used smelled so bad like animal urine i thought i was going to be sick. After the concert, we got to our room, we were not even there for 5 mins and front desk was banging on our door to complain about noise, we advised the man it was not us we just walked in the door. he wouldnt believe us.......needless to say, i was not impressed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribe_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel at least once a year for the past 10 years. During our last visit on August 1st we noticed a much improved hotel. We had a non-smoking room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and kept very clean during our 4 day stay. There was a fridge and microwave and a flat screen TV, our room also had a new air conditioner . The pool was clean and in good condition, at the time it was lacking outside tables and umbrellas, but we were told they were in the process of purchasing more outdoor furniture. The staff were very helpful and friendly, from the manager to the cleaning staff! The maintenance man seemed to be always working and keeping everything tidy and in order.
We spoke with the owner who was busy in the hotel with upgrades (new carpet etc...) and he mentioned he has plans to continue to improve the hotel. This is an economical place to stay for a visit to Bangor and we really like the location by the airport (watching large planes take off and land). We have always enjoyed staying there and with these improved changes this will continue to be our hotel of choice in Bangor!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N.S.Bluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florenceville-Bristol, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went on a shopping trip with my girlfriends. Chose this hotel because of budget when we knew we shouldn't have. Connecting door to next room wouldn't close or lock, found black hairs on our pillow cases, bathroom was full of mold, carpet had stains, A/C was loud and sounded like it was dying. On a positive note the beds were comfy. Wouldn't stay here again, would stay at the Ramada like we originally planned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarLyn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#11 of 26 in Bangor
1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Bangor
Super 8 Bangor
#17 of 26 in Bangor
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Address: 336 Odlin Rd, I-95 & I-295, Bangor, ME 04401-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bangor Hotel Bangor
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing