We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money you can't go wrong.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“For the money you can't go wrong.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

I debated on whether or not to stay here after reading the other reviews.
I took a chance and found it clean,friendly,inexpensive and close to
everything.If you compare this to the other low price motels in the area
you will be satisfied with this one.It is not the Hilton but for $55 a night
you could do much worse.Just do as we do and ask to see the room
before checking in and make your own decision.Remember you are
staying a night or two not buying the motel!

Room Tip: Book ahead for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    259
    141
    64
    83
See reviews for
202
262
75
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the first night of our long weekend in Maine, (Feb.2011). When we checked in and went to the room, at first, it didn't seem too bad. We had shopped for some food items and put them in the small fridge; looking to make sure the fride dial was on, which it was. The next morning when packing up to check-out, we noticed that the fridge had not been on, and the whole side of the inside, was mouldy..YUK...therefore, we had to through all of our food out.
The 2nd major incident was when we went out the side door to put our stuff in the car, which we were parked in a disability spot, ( with our W/C card hanging in the window). I went to go back into the hotel and the door was locked, and would not open with our room key card. I had to walk around to the other side to get back into the hotel...through all the ice and snow. When my husband came out, he let the maintainence guy know, who was working around in the hallway, The maintainence guy had said....that door is still broken ??? I let the desk know about this quite some time ago. When we went to the front desk to check-out, we informed the clerk about the fridge and loosing all of our food, to which he did not even aknowledge that there was a problem. We were quite disappointed in the reaction..or lack of...that we received. We had planned to stay the last night in Bangor at H.J.'s, however due to the above problems, chose not to. We understand that there can be problems at any hotel, however the problems that we incurred were not dealt with at all. I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mspalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Machias, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Terrible hotel! We stayed here about 15 years ago, so I wasn't concerned about it until we arrived. The TV and stands were coated with dust - enough that I could have written 'Clean Me' in it. There were huge cobwebs hanging all over the ceiling and corners of the room. The lamp shades were cracked and splitting. The blankets were tattered and literally had large holes in them. The place was old, falling apart, and very unclean. We didn't check in until late, so just decided to stay the night. In the morning, the shower wouldn't drain at all! There's just nothing better than having to step into 6 inches of dirty water! When I told the desk clerk, she asked if I had reported it the night before. I told her that would have been impossible, since we checked in so late and didn't know the drain didn't work until morning. She wasn't too concerned and just wanted to get rid of me. Do not stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitmanp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Place is old, not properly updated, no heat in some rooms, dirty carpet! .Dust everywhere, heating unit was absolutely filthy with caked on dust, sinks and tub wouldn't drain, water had terrible odor, missing light switches, broken fixtures. I travel, and this is among the worst I have seen. I have requested a full refund from Corporate HoJo's, and if I don't receive it I will pursue further action. Oh, the Bar was very well run and clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbandman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Checked in for a one night stay. Next morning no hot water. Cold showers for everyone. $20.00 taken off the bill. No ashtrays in smoking room. Everything worn & dirty. Upon checking out we had a $50 gift card and applied it to our bill. (Yes, it was good checked it not once but twice. Discovered when we got our credit card bill that our card was charged for the full price of the room. Screwed out of $50.00 bucks. The stay before this last one they lost our reservations. Thanks a bunch HoJo Bangor. Never again. Fool me once........................

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainebear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Would never recommend this hotel, rooms were smelly, floors not vacuumed, cigarette ashes on floor, no hotel info in room, beds not made properly, no info regarding shopping malls, etc. Restaurant service very slow but food was average.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fki1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Corner, New Brunswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

I had to cancel a room for 2 nights as I had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights so when I called the receptionist told me it was cancelled and when I went to pay it wasn't cancelled. Then when we entered the hotel the smell was unbearable. The smell of cigarette smoked old carpet was terrible. The room was an alright size. There were 3 ladies and a child travelling. We started to unload our things and one of the ladies hauled back the bed covers and there was pubic hair everywhere. It was so dirty we just through the covers back up over the bed and got out of their as quickly as possible. We had only been there 20 minutes. We were willing to sleep in our vehicles if there were no other hotels available. We called The Econolodge directly across the street and stayed there and it was lovely and clean. I thought the Howard Johnson was a nice clean hotel but after reading all these reviews I will never stay here again even if it is a good price. Totally turned off.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#11 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Bangor
Super 8 Bangor
#17 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Bangor
Quality Inn at Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Address: 336 Odlin Rd, I-95 & I-295, Bangor, ME 04401-6704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bangor Hotel Bangor
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing