We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked this hotel on Hotwire for a quick 1 night stay in Bangor on our way up north. The 1st room we were put in was at the end of a long hallway, near the outside door, elevator and stairs. Probably the worst location, then in the room, there were cob webs and spiders in the corner of the window. I called the FD and requested they move us, which luckily there was 1 room left. The 2nd room was in a much better location and the room was cleaner. Super small bathroom in this average room. It was fine for a 1 night stay. The front desk staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basset_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Basset_Mom,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room location and condition. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your overall experience.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    145
    101
    24
    12
See reviews for
107
107
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have stayed at this Holiday Inn the past three years and have nothing but positive things to say. This year due to hurricane Arthur we were forced to stay an extra night and the staff were very accommodating once again to make our stay very pleasant. Despite the fact it was the 4th of July long week end the price was very good. The rooms are very spacious and well kept and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Also excellent location close to all the highways and not far from the mall.

Room Tip: Easy access off the highway and onto Odlin Rd. in Bangor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 686donm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight while travelling through. Check-in was quick with friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious with comfortable bed and pillows and free wifi. Their restaurant is situated next to the reception and has a varied menu for everyone's needs. Breakfast is not free but has a varied menu to suit all tastes. They have a very nice quiet courtyard with chairs and tables to enjoy the nice weather. Pool is available, although we did not have time to try it out. Will definately stay again in the future. Price for room was cheap ( try booking online as you have the option of adding the breakfast for a relatively cheap price)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellamonieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've stayed a numerous hotels in Bangor over the years, but I must say that the value for the Holiday Inn is the best I've found.

The location is the first hotel you see on Odlin once you come off the highway, and you have a Dunkin Donuts right next door to sneak over for breakfast.

The room is what you would expect, and the bathroom has been renovated in recent year to be more modernized than the rest of the room.
The only bad things I would say about the room were that the it has an old AC unit where most hotels nowadays have centralized AC with a thermostat to control, and second was the fact that the carpet had some big red stains. Looked like melted wax or like a pack of highlighters exploded all over it.

The front desk staff was very friendly and that fact that you get access to Golds Gym for fitness is an added bonus for anyone looking to work out on your travel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone i know travelling to Bangor in the future.

Room Tip: request a room away from the highway for a quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenflyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

this is an average holiday inn. Decent size rooms, but not the cleanest. Its outdated and well used. The upside is that there is a lovely courtyard in the middle of the hotel with a fireplace. Its a great place to stay and have a glass of wine. we were out here frequently. the staff is very friendly and the main downfall to the hotel is its location. there is nothing in walking distance but the dunkin donuts next door. You must have a car to get anywhere. the hotel is situated between the highway and the train tracks, but you do not hear either of them in your room.
i did have breakfast one morning, but it wasn't the best. really just average as my poached eggs were overcooked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expresso19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joani B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello expresso19,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our courtyard. It is one of my favorite features of our hotel as well. I hope you visit us again in your travels. On your next stay you should check out our complimentary airport shuttle with service to destinations within the city. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
312 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've stayed here a few times on our way to Canada. It's a fine hotel. Friendly service. Convenient location. Clean, comfortable rooms. Lots of grassy areas in back for those who travel with dogs. A few restaurants nearby and not far from what downtown offers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was a really nice hotel, friendly staff, pet friendly. Restaurant with decent food, I really enjoyed my dinner after a 10 hour drive. Only thing was there was a loud mouth man at the bar and people were fed up of him. I had to move further away from him, he was a regular person that went to the bar area local. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road

Property: Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Address: 404 Odlin Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bangor's Largest Hotel & Fitness Complex! Now 100% smoke-free, the Holiday Inn-Bangor is Eastern Maine's premier business and leisure hotel property. Whether you are traveling in by air to the Bangor International Airport (BGR) or by sea through the American Cruise Lines, be sure to land here at your home away from home, located off I-95 at Exit 182B.The Hollywood Slots, OTB, Bangor Civic Center/Auditorium, Bangor Mall, University of Maine, & Eastern Maine Medical Center are only a few of the area's many attractions only a short distance from the Holiday Inn. Also be sure to enjoy the annual Senior Little League World Series at Mansfield Stadium, and the American Folk Festival at the Bangor Waterfront Downtown.New top furnishings and amenities, including a microwave & a refrigerator complete each of our 207 non-smoking guest rooms.The Holiday Inn-Bangor provides you with full service & overall satisfaction with an outstanding, accommodating staff, and Complimentary Access to Bangor's Full-Fitness Gold's Gym on property!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road Hotel Bangor
Bangor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing