We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 / 5 if I could, but better value than 3 / 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I think 3.5 / 5 is about right for Holiday Inn Bangor Odlin Road.
I'd have gone 3 / 5 and not 4 / 5 but for two things:
- the value was very good through a PL purchase
- they were happy to have us with our small dogs; no fees, and no attitude
Absent either of these, a lower rating for sure.

Furnishing is fine (through the beds were doubles, not queens); TV is fine; bathroom is smallish but fine, room was warm upon arrival on a wicked cold night. As another recent poster notes, the windows do let in some noise. It wasn't awful (and that's something we're likely more sensitive than most to) but it was noticeable. The hotel rooms are basically surrounded by I-95, one of its on-ramps, and the train tracks also mentioned elsewhere. In the middle of winter, when the courtyard is a total dead-zone, the key is likely to get a room facing the courtyard (even numbers).

It's been a while since I've been to Bangor much, but this hotel stacks up very well dollar-for-dollar from the way places there used to be at least. It's easy to get to and while the location is far from "scenic" it's very easy highway access.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face a courtyard and are likely a lot quieter than odd numbered rooms that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 401 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent hotel with attentive staff and a very friendly bar.
Food is not gourmet but good quality. When I think of Holiday
Inn I don't normally expect anything exceptional but this is definitely
a four star hotel well worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms are of above average size and quality with flat screen TV. I think at upstairs room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjriley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical older Holiday Inn that has had recent cosmetic updates. Staff friendly at check in and helped shovel out car after snowstorm. In room amenities nice. Bed was not the most comfortable I've seen. Rooms in need of more major renovation - antiquated HVAC which pooled lots of condensation on top of unit and many windows in complex including those in room are "fogged" from failed seals. Pool seemed nice though changing areas and restroom smelled heavily of mold as a result of failed floor tile which mold was visibly growing out of the missing grout lines. Evidence of other improper tile installation in room bath as well. Restaurant seemed fine although opted for another local one because it seemed too expensive for the generic fare. Overall this is a good place to stay but there are other nicer hotels in the area for less money.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank JJPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear JJPE,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I appreciate the positive remarks on the efforts of our hotel staff. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I apologize we did not make you feel this way. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the state of the room and cleanliness of the restroom. The appropriate management has been notified and these concerns will be addressed and corrected.

Again, I am thankful for your review and suggestions. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

There's a lot to like here, such as the pool, the in-house restaurant, the 12 noon check-out, and a courteous and helpful staff. We also liked the free wi-fi, the microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-maker. They also provided a free cot on request. Less to like is the small bathroom, full, rather than queen-size beds, and drafty windows that let a lot of outside sound in. All in all, it was fine for one night, and a lot less expensive than the Hollywood Casino Hotel.

Room Tip: There is a train track nearby, so you may want to be on the other side of the building. We live near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joani B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Karen M,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write such a helpful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

An alright property where the key to a comfortable & quiet room is where it's located within the hotel. No complaints at all though. Close to a Dunkin Donuts and service station. Everything in the room functioned properly and the front desk was anxious to assure that all was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcolt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear bcolt52,

Thank you so much for the rewarding comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that the hotel location and our room accommodations lived up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on the service and standards that we offer and I am happy we exceeded your expectations.

Once again, thank you for the great review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

There was a dirty washcloth in the bathroom. Also there Hair in the shower and the lotion was half used lotion by the sink. Gross bathroom. Looks like a super rush cleaning job..... will not be staying here ever again!:( also walls are very thin.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobster09si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joani B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear lobster09si,
Please let me apologize. I am very sorry that we delivered such a poor experience for you. We expect far more from our staff and believe our guest deserve better. I assure you this is not typical of our housekeeping staff and is not considered acceptable. I hope this experience doesn't stop you from returning. Thank you for letting us know about this so that we can address it with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on our shopping trip. Had no issues, clean room and comfortable stay. Next time, would probably book something closer to the mall but it was very easy to find and no problem getting around in the area. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joani B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear sunseeker2006, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your shopping trip. I'm glad you had a nice stay. I hope you will consider us for your next stay as well. If you plan some more shopping in Bangor remember we are only 4 miles from TJ Maxx and only 3 miles from Marshal's. Thanks again for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#17 of 26 in Bangor
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
641 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road

Address: 404 Odlin Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $113 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bangor's Largest Hotel & Fitness Complex! Now 100% smoke-free, the Holiday Inn-Bangor is Eastern Maine's premier business and leisure hotel property. Whether you are traveling in by air to the Bangor International Airport (BGR) or by sea through the American Cruise Lines, be sure to land here at your home away from home, located off I-95 at Exit 182B.The Hollywood Slots, OTB, Bangor Civic Center/Auditorium, Bangor Mall, University of Maine, & Eastern Maine Medical Center are only a few of the area's many attractions only a short distance from the Holiday Inn. Also be sure to enjoy the annual Senior Little League World Series at Mansfield Stadium, and the American Folk Festival at the Bangor Waterfront Downtown.New top furnishings and amenities, including a microwave & a refrigerator complete each of our 207 non-smoking guest rooms.The Holiday Inn-Bangor provides you with full service & overall satisfaction with an outstanding, accommodating staff, and Complimentary Access to Bangor's Full-Fitness Gold's Gym on property!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road Hotel Bangor
Bangor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing