We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the Bates Motel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Bates Motel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

What can I say. We wanted to stay at a cheap hotel for our shopping trip to Maine, but this was not what we were expecting. The lobby was shabby with a sad attempt at interior design using 80's decor, an old couch and TV (turned so that the counter staff could watch it). We thought that things might improve as we progressed to our rooms but were immediately faced with the stale, creaky, cigarette scented elevator. Looking up at the overhead light I was greeted by the shadowy carcasses of dead bugs, trapped long ago in the dusty fixture. We stepped off into a dark hallway; the lights were dim, the carpet was dark rusty brown, and the wallpaper was old and tattered looking. The only thing it was missing was some yellow police tape or a learing serial killer at the end of the hall. By the time we had found our room, I had resigned myself to the fact that we had gotten what we paid for. The furniture was about 30 years old, the TV placed at the foot of the bed was way to low to comfortably watch, and the bathroom looked like something off an oil rig. It was all very strange and I did not sleep well due to thoughts of bed begs and coach roaches. This place is a fine choice if you don't have any standards, want to shoot yourself up with illegal substances all night or have plans to knock yourself off without being bothered by the land of the living. What a hole.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LMsTourDeWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    104
    68
    31
    14
See reviews for
82
104
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

I do not mind staying at this hotel at all. I didn't find the rooms dirty - they just need to be updated. Also, the dim lights in the hallways do not help the atmosphere.

Their breakfast room is very bright, new and clean. There is always good choices for breakfast. They also have a new pool so I could imagine that this would be a great spot for families on a budget. We'll be staying again.

  • Liked — I like the price and the free breakfast
  • Disliked — The rooms need to be updated and the dim light in the hallways
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Locksly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HAMPSHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2006

They charged me 2 nights for a one night stay. I called and they admitted the mistake and said the manager, "Reg" would take care of it....................however a week later I am still trying to get them to refund the overcharge.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank FITNESSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Halifax, NS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

Stayed here in March and it was just "ok". But, that's all I need when I'm not staying long in the room and looking for inexpensive rates.

Stayed here with friends on a shopping trip in October. I can't tell you how disgusted and embarrased I was! I told my friends that it's an inexpensive place with no bells and whistles. But, what we got were dirty rooms that were disgusting. You could taste the smoke in my room. I was told that you can't guarantee that you'll get a non-smoking room if you book online.

I guess I just got lucky with the room I had in March. Unless a hotel can deteriorate that much in 6 months!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — DO NOT STAY HERE!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2004

Peeling wallpaper and rusting door frames to the bathrooms-the outside is not too bad but the inside needs a facelift. Yes, this is Econolodge but no excuse for finishes that resulted in a less than clean impression. Waiting at the reception desk while one of the receptionists finished a personal call. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2003

Located at the junction of I95, I395, and US 2. Clean average size rooms at low cost. Downtown 2 miles, Bangor Mall 4 miles via I95

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Win71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
0.1 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#11 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Bangor
Quality Inn at Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Bangor
Super 8 Bangor
#17 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 327 Odlin Road, Bangor, ME 04401 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bangor
#11 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn (formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites) is located conveniently off Interstate 95 and Routes 2/100. Large variety of room types and sizes to fit all guests needs and budgets. All guest rooms equipped with Free high speed wireless internet and coffee makers. Heated indoor pool and Free continental breakfast available. Pets Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Bangor
Econo Lodge Bangor Maine
Bangor Econo Lodge
Rodeway Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing