We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great help at the front desk!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great help at the front desk!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel, in some ways. On our visit, however, the kindness and easy presence of the two clerks gave our whole stay an extra star! Lauren and Kelsey were smiling as they worked out a small kink in our reservation.

Good price. A restful sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Evanapevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJHECONO, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback that you have provided on this website. If we can do anything extra on your next stay with us, please call Reg Hagerman, the general manager, or myself.
Again thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property.
Sincerely,
Michelle French
Front Office Manager
EconoLodge Inn & Suites
327 Odlin Road
Bangor, Maine 04401
(207) 945-0111
michellefdm@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    109
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
91
111
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Gloucester, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have always used Choice Hotel properties when we travel if they are available. We have had some bad experiences with Econo Lodge but this was not one of them. This hotel looked good in the pictures and was exactly as pictured. Very clean with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and indoor pool. Beds were comfortable. Close to airport, interstate, downtown, and University of Maine.
Great stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJHECONO, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments about our hotel on this site. We really appreciate your kind words. If there is ever anything that we can do for future reservations please call myself or Reg Hagerman, the general manager.
Again thank you for taking the time out to write a nice review on our property.
Sincerely,
Michelle French
Front Office Manager
EconoLodge Inn & Suites
327 Odlin Road
Bangor, Maine 04401
(207)954-0111
michellefdm@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

One night stay on a trip to Nova Scotia. Booked in advance, great check in,friendly staff .Had a preprinted sheet of restaurants, attractions, malls etc. Room was clean, had a microwave and mini fridge. Lots of towels,pen, paper. A large well staffed and stocked breakfast room was welcomed by us and many other traveller's present. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Read reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibodeaucb, Director of Sales at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites. We truly appreciate your business and kind words. Econo Lodge Inn & Suites of Bangor, Maine works very hard to balance value with clean, comfortable rooms with great amenities, such as you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I should have slept in my car. This hotel was gross. First off they put is in a handicapped room where every time someone came into the hotel, our alarm clock would go off. There were pubic hairs all over the wall trim by the floor. The mattresses were disgusting as well. The sheets would not stay on the bed and when I woke up to find out that I was sleeping on the mattress I almost puked. Stained with every bodily fluid that you can imagine. The room was small but the bathroom was huge and freezing cold. Room was beside the elevator and was very loud. We had to turn on the AC in November just to drown out the noise of it. Beds were very small too. Food in the cold vending machine looked like it had been there for a long time as there was frost all over it. Laundry room was gross as well, very rusty machines. Pool was nice. Maybe I should have slept down there.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator. Ask for top floor, I overheard one of the clerks saying that the beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibodeaucb, Director of Sales at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for letting us know where we need to improve. I will be discussing these issues with the management and staff so they may be addressed. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to me as I would greatly appreciate any further information you may have concerning your recent stay with us. I would also like to apologize and have the opportunity to make things right with you. This is an award winning property and we try very hard to provide value and comfort. Again, thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night over Columbus Day Weekend. Econo Lodge was least expensive of hotels that had rooms available. The room was clean, reasonably comfortable, and a inline with what I'd expect of a two star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibodeaucb, Director of Sales at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments; we couldn't have said it better ourselves! Econo Lodge Inn & Suites of Bangor, Maine is truly a great place to stop. We hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was basic with a mini fridge and microwave. A good Continental breakfast in a bright, clean breakfast room overlooking the pool. The pool was good sized and well maintained. We saw them cleaning it each day. Good parking and a great, friendly staff. Great maid service. The downsides: a 2 year old "local events' brochure in the room, tub drain green and corroded, no flat screen tv. Security was odd: the hallways were dim, stairways dark, elevator noisy and there was just a chain lock for the door. If you are worried about a secure room look elsewhere. Otherwise, a nice stay at a budget price.

Room Tip: I'd bring a flashlight and a 2nd travelers door alarm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibodeaucb, Director of Sales at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff and their service to them at our next meeting.

I did want to clarify that all of our guest room doors have a total of three locks on them; one in the electronic handle itself, a deadbolt and a chain. The hotel also utilizes 24hr. front desk staff, security cameras and outside security services as needed. The hotel completed lighting upgrades to the exterior of the hotel, lobby and continental breakfast room. We are still looking into options available for our hallways and stairwells.

Thank you for your patronage and I hope that we can be of service to you in the future the next time you are in Bangor, ME.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our second stay at the Econolodge which offers good value for money at the budget end of the market especially with the complimentary Wi-Fi, coffee in the lobby, breakfast and airport transfer. Some simple changes could improve its eco performance while still keeping in line with its low-cost proposition.

Public Transport:
- No information in the room or website about accessing the local public transportation network
- Missed opportunity to extend the airport transfer service to also include the local bus terminal which is just across the road from the airport

Zero Waste:
+ Recycling bin in the room but no composting bins
- Was not provided the option to receive bill via email rather than getting another piece of paper to throw away
- TONS of disposable items at the breakfast - plates, cups, bowls, cutlery. With a little bit or organisation and effort all this waste could be a thing of the past and would make the breakfast much more pleasant
- No recycling or composting bins apparent at breakfast
- Disposable plastic toiletries containers rather than the bulk dispensers you find in many eco-conscious Nordic hotels
- Disposable cups in room for water and coffee covered in unnecessary excess plastic wrapping

Energy:
+ Information in room about reusing towels
- Shower, toilet and faucet do not appear to be low flow
- Windows do not appear to be well insulated given the hotel's location in Maine
- No room-key operated electricity controls like in most European hotels
- No sensors to turn-off or dim lights in common hallways when not needed
- No apparent on-site generation through solar or thermal hot water


Recycled and Local Products:
+ What looked like recycled paper products in the room
- Missed opportunity of using more local products at breakfast (eg. local jams and spreads rather than generic single use containers) which would make breakfast more pleasant

Environmental Information:
- No information in room or on website regarding environmental, initiatives, performance / CO2 emissions and targets
- Not listed in Tripadvisor's Green Leaders (though the Econolodge website indicates that the hotel participates in green initiatives)

CO2 Offset
- No option to offset CO2 emissions from stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibodeaucb, Director of Sales at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Our mission is to deliver a "great place to stop" and value added amenities to ensure an enjoyable experience for our guests. To that mission we are now adding to also be Green. We are in the process of, through our franchise, looking at many of the items you listed in your response to reduce our waste at the hotel. Included in that process will also be additional signage and programs that guests can help us to reduce our waste and reach our goals of being Green. Thank you for the feedback, it is timely and most helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
0.1 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#14 of 26 in Bangor
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
2.7 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 327 Odlin Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-6703 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bangor
#11 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn (formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites) is located conveniently off Interstate 95 and Routes 2/100. Large variety of room types and sizes to fit all guests needs and budgets. All guest rooms equipped with Free high speed wireless internet and coffee makers. Heated indoor pool and Free continental breakfast available. Pets Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Bangor
Econo Lodge Bangor Maine
Bangor Econo Lodge
Rodeway Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing