We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this hotel open when half of it is a building site???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Why is this hotel open when half of it is a building site???”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

If I had seen the previous review, I would have stayed somewhere else.
We stayed there for four nights in early July 2008. I was told when booking that the hotel was 'undergoing some work' and there would be no gym facilities and some disruption to the lobby area - neither of which would bother us. SOME work ?? When we arrived, part of the car park was occupied by two large cranes and also being used to store building materials. One whole wing of the building was sealed off and the entire lower section of the hotel had been removed. They were even fixing the roof!
I cannot fault the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, but the room rate at $175 per night (excluding breakfast) was a rip-off, when the builders started work as early as 7AM and the place was a mess!!
We were in an old room on the 8th floor, only one away from the renovations, so we heard it all. We could also hear ANY activity going on in the hall - other guests and their kids, the maids and cleaners, builders - the lot! Not at all private. There was also some aircraft noise as the hotel overlooks the runway.
The room was basic. The beds were comfortable, but the bathroom extractor fan didn't work and the bathroom lights were like buzzing deathrays!
The only consolation was that the construction workers downed tools for 4th July weekend, so we were granted a little peace for the latter half of our stay.
...I'm wondering why this place is open... And why it's still charging a standard room rate, when it's currently way below standard. If you need accommodation near Bangor Airport (as we did) there are other options nearby which are much better in their current state.

  • Liked — The staff were very helpful and efficient
  • Disliked — The extensive building works and the lack of adequate information when booking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladdict42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBangor, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
This review is from July of 2008. The extensive interior/exterior renovation is long completed. The pictures are old and outdated. To view the Four Points by Sheraton Bangor, Maine, click on the VFM video near the Four Points by Sheraton to see our new hotel after a $10 million dollar renovation. Vivian Cammack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    148
    107
    46
    22
See reviews for
113
127
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2008

The hotel is undergoing a COMPLETE renovation, inside and out. This has it torn to pieces and it is AWFUL.

Figuring out how to park is nearly impossible and I had to call the front desk as I was circling because the entire hotel is blocked by its own construction zone and the entire facade of the building is ripped off. Some of the entrances are blocked and I'm pretty sure its not ADA compliant. The dust and debris from remodeling is everywhere. There are whole rooms in the lobby that are draped in plastic. The carpets are disgusting, the elevators are busted and literarlly have the rooms are under construction.

On the floor I was on, half the floor was open for guets while the other half was a working construction zone that was not protected from intrusion, any guest could have walked into this potentially dangerous area.

And of course the noise was pretty bad too. When they started banging away at 7AM, I knew I had had enough. They should shut this place down until they finish the renovations. I can't even believe they have the nerve to be open and allow people to stay in this dump.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aggienmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Have stayed there 3 times on business in 2006 and 2007. Rooms are always very comfortable. Check in staff reliably helpful. Breakfast is not included but you can buy it at the restaurant, where service can be a bit slow, but the menu is relatively broad. Parking is convenient, but you have to know how to access it - call ahead and ask for directions if you're driving there. A good, solid hotel.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Slow service at restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DPtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This is the only place we stay when in Bangor. Always friendly at check-in and honor our requests. Smaller hotel so it's always been quiet. Away from the mall area so you don't have to fight with crowds or kids. We always get a high floor with runway view. My husband loves planes so always stay here. It's nice to relax even when not flying out. Has a great restaurant downstairs with a lounge. The room service is great too! Hotel is now going under major renovations, so I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Location of hotel, runway view, quietness, friendly staff and comfort of room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom24kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Quick, one-night stay.

Lots of positives-free wireless internet (major plus), free bottle of water, awesome shower pressure & temperature, quick check-in/out, comfortable beds.

Had to drop from 4 stars to 3 for following reasons:

THIN walls, hotel seemed just about empty so not sure why two very loud groups were situated RIGHT next to us. They were extremely loud & obnoxious. Since it was fairly early in the evening, from about 7:30pm-10:00pm, did not complain but we could clearly hear every drunk syllable. Would have been nice to have some space in between but they passed out early so not too much of a problem.

Lots of decorative pillows on king bed but only two for sleeping and one was SO flimsy (mine, of course), it felt like half the down / feathers were missing. Couldn't get comfortable although bed and linens were nice.

Back to positives:

I have no reason to fly out of Bangor, but if you have a chance to, this is the place to stay. Literally connected to airport and only steps away. Flight updates are provided in lobby.

Had breakfast in restaurant, huge portions and very tasty. Prices were reasonable and staff was friendly.

Public computer in lobby, free of charge.

Don't forget to take your parking ticket with you, front desk validates but not until departure. Otherwise, $7 parking fee for 24 hours, I think.

All in all, not a bad stay. Looks like they are making some major improvements to public areas, none of which disturbed our stay, but will certainly improve the overall ambience of this property.

  • Liked — Free Wireless Internet
  • Disliked — THIN Walls
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WunelleTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

I've stayed here dozens of times over the past decade and it's always been a safe, reliable place to stay. That said, it's nothing special and if you're in the BGR area for anything other than the airport, be advised that this property is well outside the normal traffic patterns of anyone needing to be in the area.

They completed a rooms renovation about a year and a half ago that brought the new beds and down pillows in. Now the rooms are standard Four Points issue, except the bathrooms are very dated and actually go back to the 1970s when this place was built as a Hilton! I understand that they will finally be torn apart and completely renovated over the spring/summer of 2008. It's certainly overdue.

I don't like the restaurant. Oddly, the food is actually okay, but the service and the ambiance is among the worst you'll experience in any chain hotel in the US. The bartender at night has been there a long time and she's fun and outgoing, but the morning staff looks to be very low paid and they just go through the motions. The tables, the dining room itself, the chairs, the surroundings are all very dated and in dire need of a total renovation.

I'll agree with a previous poster that Tom on the front desk is one of this hotel's great assets. He worked, I understand, for many years at the Beverly Wilshire.

My hope is that once the bathrooms and public areas are finally renovated this hotel can be good again. In the meanwhile, be aware it will likely be a mixed bag.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank sthomp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We choose this hotel because of its location. My husband and I would arrive late in the evening after a long day with three flights from Europe and it would be very nice not to wait for hotel shuttles and so on. Of course we were a little worried after reading the reviews but then it is also a plus that expectations are low.

With just a pedestrian bridge the hotel has a very easy access after arrival (Bangor has a very small airport). We just had to collect our luggage downstairs, get the elevator and after a very short walk we were in the hotel. The lobby is small, but didn’t look so downhill as mentioned before; in fact it is a nice entrance. There was a friendly girl behind the front desk and check-in went smooth, we were given a room at the 8th floor for Starwood Preferred Guests.

The room was nice, had a good quality bed, an easy chair (off white, with no signs of anything old or worn), a bureau desk with chair and a coffee set. The only thing missing was a table lamp on the bureau, it was very dark is this area of the room. We had the standard double room, so without refrigerator and microwave.

We had a good night sleep, didn’t hear anything. The next morning I found it very difficult to get the shower working on the desired temperature, also the water pressure was low. But that can may be because I had problems using the handles. The bathroom was further good.

Have not been in the restaurant, so I cannot give comments on that part of the hotel. In the morning all staff was very friendly. We had a senior weekend rate that was somewhat less than 100 dollars excl. tax. For this price the hotel is just okay, not good not bad, if we had a room with the micro/fridge for this rate it would be much better (also be aware that breakfast is not included!).

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Problems with the shower
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport
Address: 308 Godfrey Blvd, Bangor, ME 04401-3024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport has 111 comfortable guest rooms and is connected to Bangor International Airport by enclosed skywalk. Our hotel is near Bangor Civic Center and Bangor Waterfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Bangor Airport Hotel Bangor
4 Points By Sheraton Bangor Airport
Four Points Bangor Airport
Bangor Sheraton
Bangor Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Bangor Airport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing