We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read if you have kids and want to stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western White House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My husband and our three young children stayed at this Best Western Hotel on a recent weekend to Maine, (our children are twins at 7yrs and an 11 yr old). We arrived late at night and the hotel was lovely located right off the I95 and the room was clean and big. We had stayed at several Best Westerns before and have yet to be disappointed.

However next morning we wher heading for breakfast and my young son ran down the hotel corrider to go downstairs to the lounge for breakfast when the grumpy old receptionist met us and stopped us in our track, stating children wherent allowed to run in the hotel as "the walls where very thin and it was too noisy" ! She could have said something like safety and been less offensive.

On arriving for breakfast we were "greated" by another grumpy old lady who scolded me several time, first for not using tongs to get a bagel, secondly for allowing my son to use the toaster and then about the coffee. She then sat and stared at us throughout breakfast, very very uncomfortable. Next morning we chose to eat out.

Whilst having breakfast my daughter needed the washroom , shes 7yrs, she went to ask the receptionist where the washroom is and the receptionist brought my daughter to us and said children wheren't allowed to go about the hotel unaccompanied! I then had to leave my breakfast and take my more than capable daughter to the washroom att the end of the dining room.

A nice comfortable clean hotel, but Best Western your staff manners around children at this hotel left a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoriCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 885 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2006

Well the best western leaves a lot to be desired. We arrived in the evening. The lobby smelled from smoke, was very old looking, rather depressing. Also a cabinet with a TV on it - going full blast, was dusty. The elevator to second floor was dirty. The place is rather out of date.

Another reviewer or the hotel mentions a new addition. We were totally unaware of its existence and it certainly had no effect on our stay, which fortunately was brief. Out early the following morning.

There is a sketch of the addition in the lobby. Date of completion is listed as July 2006. No where near done.

Price was over a hundred. The location is not great. Lots of trucks around. behind a truck stop. The picture of the hay field on their website is way in the back and not part of the hotel. The room was fairly clean, but dark. Also may have had pets in it previously - slight odor. It is a pet friendly hotel and it appears they don't restrict the pets to certain rooms.

Didn't need AC, so not sure how noisy it was. Bed, bathroon were all ok. Chairs in the room were old. Bedside lamps were old. the place does not give you a very good feeling.

The breakfast, which was adequate was in the basement bar room. A throw back to ???. Seating was at long shared tables and probably not adequate for everyone to sit at.

Would not go back .

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

OK, so, we're not talking Bellagio in Vegas or the Ritz in NYC... this we all understand.

However ~ for $89.00 a night you can do WAY better in the Bangor area. Was this a terrible place?... not terrible, but, surprisingly run down... and the location (across the highway from from a landfill), was an unexpected surprise as well.

my take is that, if you are enroute to a hunting/fishing trip somewhere in the vicinity, and everything else is sold out (almost impossible), and, there are no women in your party, (or, unless you are a trucker, and there were plenty)... and you're exhausted, this property might be ok.

the only thing that saves this location from a "terrible" rating, are the folks that work here. they really do try to make the best of a bad situation. as when we were signing in, and we tried to cancel our reservation, to stay about 1/4 mile down the road at a fairly nice, updated Fairfield Inn... the woman at the front desk had been through this routine too many times to count... but kept her composure, and her smile and without attitude, explained that it was too late (upon arrival), to cancel, but, she had the phone # for the corporate office for us to try to plead our case. almost sadly/comically this scenerio took place two more times as we were signing, as folks arrived. still the woman kept her cool, and sense of decorum.

the rooms are completely outdated (circa 1970), but, in this situation, who cares... they were as clean as the staff could make them. the air-conditioner (window unit), was as loud as a truck driving next to you on a highway, with your window open. but, again, staff did their best to make our terrible room clean and comfortable.

the only upside(s): 1) was the really cool lounge in the basement. if you have a sense of adventure, the bar has the feel of someone's basement, turned into a bar, for the enjoyment of thier best friends... all circa 1970 something in feel ... not mod 70's, but, like, basement bar for truckers, hunter/fisherman, 70's... very welcoming... even if you don't drink, you feel like you're in some kind of museum, and just have to have a beer/soda, just to say you did.

the other upside, 2) though a bit rough around the edges, was Dystar... a classic diner/trucker restaurant right across the street, and a sketchy trucker parking lot away. classic fare, large over-carbed delish food... and believe it or not, one of the freshest/best lobster rolls i've ever had (not over mayo-ed, or flavored... roll toasted to perfection, and, yes, really fresh lobster). desserts are over-sized and recipes created when carbs were our friends.

in conclusion ~ this property is WAY overpriced, (should be more in the $32 range), but staff is to be commended for keeping their cool and decorum (while Praying, i'm sure, for Best Western to someday update and throughly gut and steam clean to entire property, except that bar ; )

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fattyboombalatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDaigle, Chief Operating Officer at Best Western White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2006

We are writing to respond to a review that was posted on June 26, 2006 by a TripAdvisor member from New Jersey. The tone of the review is sarcastic, although the traveler offers several ‘left-handed’ compliments – the room was clean, the people at the hotel were nice, the lounge was ‘really cool’ and the restaurant next door served the ‘freshest/best lobster rolls ever.’

But the traveler is mistaken on several counts:

He/she claims that there is a ‘fairly nice’ Fairfield Inn a quarter mile away. There is a Fairfield Inn, but it’s 3.3 miles away. The restaurant next door is Dysart’s, not Dystar as he/she claims. The traveler, who was not observant enough to get those facts correct, certainly made a mistake about the quality of the hotel and its rooms. The hotel is a Best Western, a chain which sets rigorous standards for its members to follow. This particular Best Western, the White House Inn, has scored a perfect 1,000 points on several of its last franchise inspections.

In his diatribe, this traveler forgot to mention that a nearly $2,000,000 addition is in progress at the hotel. The construction project was started in September of 2005, so it’s unlikely that the traveler missed seeing the newly added wing during a visit in June of 2006. The addition to the facility will include a large porte cochere, new lobby, large whirlpool spa, 7 over-sized executive rooms with fireplaces and 5 themed luxury suites.

Either this guest never visited the hotel or had some personal reason for denigrating the Best Western White House Inn. The hotel is a clean, well-maintained property with nicely appointed rooms as evidenced by Best Western’s quality assurance staff and our #1 standing in TripAdvisor reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
SAINT JOHN, N. B. (Canada)
111
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western White House Inn in Bangor, Me. two weeks ago, and were very pleased with our clean, large comfortable room; the friendly staff; the huge free breakfast; and the fact that this is a DOG-FRIENDLY accommodation.
Travelling with our 2 dogs is important to us. They are crated in the room when we are there, and leave with us on each occasion that we leave. We pick-up after them, and leave the room in the same neat condition that it was in prior to our arrival. We hope that other dog owners will continue to leave a good impression on the management & staff of DOG FRIENDLY establishments such as this one, so that all of us can enjoy the company of our 4-legged companions while travelling.
The Best Western White House Inn is presently undergoing an expansion, and is an extremely well-cared for and picturesque place. Our room had a mini fridge and a microwave as well as a coffee maker. There is, also, free access to a computer in
the main lobby. We felt it had all the amenities we needed, and we are sure you will enjoy your stay at this wonderful Best Western accommodation.
Please check it out. We are sure you will agree.

The Capsons
Saint John, N. B. (Canada)

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ocala, FL
110
Reviewed February 13, 2006

My family loved this hotel. 4 pillows on each bed, fresh cookies at check in, make your own waffles in morning. Great staff.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2005

My daughter and I stayed at the White House Inn Nov.21 2005 while checking out the University of Maine at Orono.
The hotel overall was very acceptable. It was not very physically attractive, and was in a terrible location near a truck stop, near the highway, and lots of other truck/Car businesses. But the room was very nice for the amount charged.It was clean, large enough, with relatively modern furniture. The heat worked well. The lobby was adequate with internet availability and chocolate chip cookies. The hotel was 5-10 minutes from a very very large mall with every store and restaurant available. The drive to the University was about 20 minutes.Breakfast was o.k. Waffles were good,coffee was terrible and the two oranges available for fresh fruit were ancient.But there was also cereal,bagels etc. For the price charged ($61.00) the hotel is hard to beat. We would stay there again, but go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chantarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaiderFanNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
7.5 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Inn

Address: 155 Littlefield Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-7206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangor
#4 Family Hotel in Bangor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
Price Range: $78 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western White House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial-style 3-story Motor Inn located at I-95 exit 44, 3 miles south of city center & 6 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White House Hotel Bangor
Best Western White Hotel
Best Western Bangor
Bangor Best Western
Best Western White House Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing